‘THE DEVIL YOU KNOW’ – Trish DOller

fullsizerender

Thanks to Bloomsbury Publishing for sending me a copy to review. This is a contemporary mixed with thriller YA book, and I had no idea what to expect when I picked it up. There were so many surprises and plot twists throughout the plot and I can’t wait to share what I thought with you guys!

Eighteen-year-old Arcadia wantsΒ adventure. Living in a tiny Florida town with her dad and four-year-old brother, Cadie spends most of her time working, going to school, and taking care of her family. So when she meets two handsome cousins at a campfire party, she finally has a chance for fun. They invite her and friend to join them on a road trip, and it’s just the risk she’s been craving-the opportunity to escape. But what starts out as a fun, sexy journey quickly becomes dangerous when she discovers that one of them is not at all who he claims to be. One of them has deadly intentions. ‘ – Goodreads

CHARACTERS: Cadie’s life has been filled with grief, hard work, and looking after her dad and brother and her dad’s store over the last few months. At just eighteen, she has the weight of the world on her shoulders and hasn’t had the opportunity to just be a teenager. I really felt for Cadie in the beginning, but loved seeing her transition as the story continued. Her ability to let loose and make friends on that first night was good to see, even though things didn’t end up going her way as we near the end of the book.

I had mixed feeling about Noah throughout a majority of the book. I think because Matt was introduced to the readers first, I liked him more than Noah. But Noah was the one that Cadie felt an instant connection to. I did like reading about their relationship and how this changed throughout the book, but it wasn’t the best ‘romance’ I’ve read about in a thriller.

I also had mixed feelings for Matt, for obvious reasons. But I liked how the three of them got along and went through so much drama throughout the book. I liked not knowing what to think about each of the characters because it just added to the suspense and thrill.

STORY LINE / PLOT: The plot was nice and simple, and therefore easy to understand even though thrillers can sometimes be hard to keep up with. Since it’s only a short book and I managed to finish it within a day, it was perfect for what I needed at the time. I’ve been in a bit of a reading slump so it was good to read a short book that was an absolute page turner.

However, short books sometimes feel like not much happens. Pretty much the whole story was based around Cadie’s camping trip with these two guys that she met the day before, but I think the story could have gone to so many more places. For example, every now and again Cadie’s relationship with her dad and younger brother was mentioned, but this story was never developed. The readers learn that her mum recently passed away and Cadie is left to look after the family. But we never see a resolution to this story, and I feel like it could have added that little bit more depth.


ENDING: I really liked the ending and felt like it added so much to the thrill and suspense of the book. I changed my mind so many times about how it was going to end, and I liked how the actual ending wasn’t predictable until we neared closer to it. It was dramatic, scary, and a tiny bit emotional for me. But I liked it and think that it wrapped up the story perfectly. The only thing I would have liked to see is Cadie talk to her dad a bit more about everything that’s been going on. There were a few words exchanged between them, but I feel like some more depth and the book would have been nearly perfect.


RATING: Overall, I decided to give this book 4.5 stars out of 5. If you like YA thrillers, or are looking for a quick and simple read, I highly recommend picking up ‘THE DEVIL YOU KNOW’. The author has published a few other books and I plan on picking them up soon πŸ™‚

fullsizerender-2

Leave a Reply

