Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff ‘GEMINA’ Book Launch!

fullsizerender4

Tonight (last Thursday by the time this goes up) was my first ever book launch/book signing/ meeting an author ever!! I didn’t know what to expect, but I had an absolute blast. The book launch was hosted by The YA Circle at Dymock’s Adelaide for Gemina, the sequel to Illuminae. If you haven’t checked out Illuminae, I highly suggest you do because it is AMAZING! I’ve heard Gemina is even better and I can’t wait to pick it up asap.

ILLUMINAE SYNOPSIS; This morning, Kady thought breaking up with Ezra was the hardest thing she’d have to do.This afternoon, her planet was invaded. The year is 2575, and two rival megacorporations are at war over a planet that’s little more than an ice-covered speck at the edge of the universe. Too bad nobody thought to warn the people living on it. With enemy fire raining down on them, Kady and Ezra—who are barely even talking to each other—are forced to fight their way onto an evacuating fleet, with an enemy warship in hot pursuit. But their problems are just getting started. A deadly plague has broken out and is mutating, with terrifying results; the fleet’s AI, which should be protecting them, may actually be their enemy; and nobody in charge will say what’s really going on. As Kady hacks into a tangled web of data to find the truth, it’s clear only one person can help her bring it all to light: the ex-boyfriend she swore she’d never speak to again.

GEMINA SYNOPSIS; Moving to a space station at the edge of the galaxy was always going to be the death of Hanna’s social life. Nobody said it might actually get her killed. The sci-fi saga that began with the breakout bestseller Illuminaecontinues on board the Jump Station Heimdall, where two new characters will confront the next wave of the BeiTech assault. Hanna is the station captain’s pampered daughter; Nik the reluctant member of a notorious crime family. But while the pair are struggling with the realities of life aboard the galaxy’s most boring space station, little do they know that Kady Grant and theHypatia are headed right toward Heimdall, carrying news of the Kerenza invasion. When an elite BeiTech strike team invades the station, Hanna and Nik are thrown together to defend their home. But alien predators are picking off the station residents one by one, and a malfunction in the station’s wormhole means the space-time continuum might be ripped in two before dinner. Soon Hanna and Nik aren’t just fighting for their own survival; the fate of everyone on the Hypatia—and possibly the known universe—is in their hands.

 

So I purchased my tickets for the launch night about a month ago because I knew I loved Illumine and Kaufman and Kristoff’s writing and really wanted to know more about them. I wasn’t 100% certain that I was going to attend since I was going on my own and this made me slightly anxious. However, I sucked it up and pretty much forced myself to shove my Illuminae book into my hand bag, get on that tram, and go to that book store. This is a once in a lifetime opportunity to meet two amazing authors! Don’t ruin this for yourself, Gabby.  Barely any author comes to Adelaide – this might be your only chance!

Anyway, I’m so glad that I forced myself to go in the end because I had a great time. When I arrived at the store, the line up at the front was pretty long – a lot longer than I expected it to be. We were eventually let in and and I took the closest available seat to the front… which was in the second to last row. It was fine, really… I just had to keep bending my neck to see over the tall man who was sitting in front of me.

fullsizerender3

Amie and Jay spent a lot of time talking and answering questions from us, and they are such funny and down to earth people. I remember at one point in the night they were telling a story that was completely off topic from the question that was asked, but I couldn’t wipe the smile off my face because they are just so DAMN funny! I was so happy with myself that I went, and I really would love to go to more author meet-ups.

They told stories about how they first met, came to writing Illuminae, where the idea came from, how they came up with the name, how writing Gemina went and what’s going to go down in the third book which they are editing at the moment. A couple of girls from the “audience” (I don’t know what else to call it) asked a few questions as well. They gave advice for aspiring writers, recommended some favourite books, and talked about the book that they plan on releasing over the next few years. This Q&A took about an hour and a half, but it honestly didn’t feel that long. It went so quick and I could’ve listened to them talking forever.

After that they spent ages trying to get a group photo of all of us. Jay and Amie also video’d us doing a ‘book wave’ which is essentially a ‘Mexican Wave’ but we were all holding up a copy of Gemina. I so badly just wanted to crank the book open and start reading it straight away. If I wasn’t midnight and I wasn’t so tried, I’d probably pick it up right now.

fullsizerender2

I then spent about some time in the line trying to purchase a copy of Gemina. They had all of Amie and Jay’s other books on a stand, and I was so tempted to buy Nevernight and The Broken Stars, but the broke student inside me said NO! I then went into another line to meet Amie and Jay so they could sign both books for me. When I got to the front of the line, my nerves took over me and I don’t think I even got to tell them how much I loved their books and their writing! In my copy of Illuminae, Amie wrote, “Fight like a girl” and in my copy of Gemina, Jay wrote, “Take your shot.” I FREAKING LOVE THEM!! I also got a cute little pic with them and I probably said ‘thank you’ and they probably said ‘thanks for coming out’ but I don’t really remember because it was all such a rush!

fullsizerender

So that was my eventful night at the GEMINA book launch. If you ever get the chance to go to a book launch, author signing, or meetup I highly suggest you do because it was so much fun. And if you ever get the chance to meet Amie or Jay, make better conversation with them than I did. Also read Illuminae, Gemina, and their other books!

fullsizerender1

 

3 Comments Add yours

  1. I was at the launch in Melbourne!

    Like

    1. That’s so good! Did you enjoy it?

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yes I loved it 😊

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

