‘THE SUN IS ALSO A STAR’ – Nicola Yoon

fullsizerender-5

Thanks to Penguin Australia for sending me a copy of TSIAAS. I was super keen to grab a copy when I heard that Nicola Yoon would be releasing another book since I absolutely LOVED Everything, Everything when I read it at the beginning of the year. I always enjoy a good YA contemporary and knew that I would love this book either way!

Natasha: I’m a girl who believes in science and facts. Not fate. Not destiny. Or dreams that will never come true. I’m definitely not the kind of girl who meets a cute boy on a crowded New York City street and falls in love with him. Not when my family is twelve hours away from being deported to Jamaica. Falling in love with him won’t be my story.
Daniel: I’ve always been the good son, the good student, living up to my parents’ high expectations. Never the poet. Or the dreamer. But when I see her, I forget about all that. Something about Natasha makes me think that fate has something much more extraordinary in store—for both of us.
The Universe: Every moment in our lives has brought us to this single moment. A million futures lie before us. Which one will come true? – Goodreads

CHARACTERS: Firstly, I just want to mention how much I love Nicola Yoon’s wide range of diverse characters. It really opened my eyes to the world and people around me, and it made me love the book even more (if that’s possible!).

Firstly, I loved reading Natasha’s story. it broke my heart and I honestly didn’t know what was going to happen. She is the opposite of most female characters in YA contemporaries – instead of being in love with love, she thinks that it’s simply just a construct.It was hard to read about the troubles that she is going through with trying to stay in the country and her cheating boyfriend, but seeing her with Daniel just lit my hear up!

Daniel is the complete opposite to Natasha. He isn’t scared to show the world his love or tell people how he really feels. However, just like Natasha he is going through a lot. He has been having troubles at home with his older brother for years, and this only develops even more throughout the book. Daniel must decide what he wants with his life; to follow his parents structure, or be true to himself.

There are also a few other characters in the story that we are introduced to and learn more about through chapter here-and-there about them. I thought this was a really nice touch as we were able to get an insight into the minor characters of the story.

PLOT/ STORY LINE: I loved that the book all took place in one day. A lot happened in this day, however, it wasn’t too full on that I lost track of what was happening. There was a perfect amount of drama, emotion, conflict and resolutions to keep me satisfied and entertained when reading.

I enjoyed the fact that Natasha and Daniel’s stories developed as the book went on, and we discovered more and more about them. I also found it unique that we were introduced to other characters who had their own stories and were able to find out about them. It really made me realise that I am not the only person in this world and I don’t know what a particular person is thinking or feeling at a specific time. We don’t know what happens behind closed doors, and this was clearly shown within these minor characters’ chapters.

ENDING: I would have to say that the ending was my favourite part of the book. I’d say the last fifty pages I went through about twenty different emotions. I had goose bumps up my arms, shivers running up my spine, tears in my eyes and a smile on my face. So much happened that I didn’t know how to feel. All I know is that this book was AMAZING and you NEED to read it!

RATING: Overall, I decided to give TSIAAS a perfect 5 stars. I don’t think I can fault anything about it – it was incredible. Although I think I enjoyed Everything, Everything slightly more, this came in a close second. Let me know down below if you have read either of Nicola Yoon’s books, and let me know what you thought!

 

 

Leave a Reply

