OCTOBER 2016 WRAP UP

fgh.jpg

I had a pretty average reading month – I read a few really good books, but a lot of books that I read I thought a bit “meh” about. I read twelve books overall; six YA, one graphic novel, four adult fiction, and one classic. Nine of the books I read were sent to me for review and you can check my reviews out for each of these books below. I also participated in Dewey’s 24 Hour Readathon and I did a wrap up on my blog which you can also check out.

So without further ado, here’s what I read in the month of October…

‘USERNAME; REGENERATED’ – Joe Sugg
-This is the second graphic novel that Joe (MY FAVOURITE YOUTUBER!!!) released earlier this month. These are the only graphic novels that I’ve read so I have nothing to compare them to, but I really enjoyed both books. The story line and Evie herself developed so much in this book and I can’t wait to see where else Joe is going to go with this series.
-5 Stars

‘WITCH’S PYRE’ – Josephine Angelini
-This is the last book in the Worldwalker trilogy and I loved the ending to this adventurous series. You can check out the full review I did on this series on my old blog here; http://gabbytheblogger.blogspot.com.au/2016/10/worldwalker-spoiler-free-series-review.html
-4.5 Stars

‘VAMPIRE ACADEMY’ – Richelle Mead
-I really loved this book and can’t wait to read the rest of the series. I watched the movie a few months ago and can understand why people told me not to watch it first because it doesn’t do the book justice. Although it isn’t the best fantasy book I’ve read, I’ll definitely be reading the rest of the series over the next couple of months.
-5 Stars

‘HOLDING UP THE UNIVERSE’ – Jennifer Niven
-I have been looking forward to this book for a while, and I can say that I loved it. I’ve read mixed reviews about it, but I personally found it so unique and diverse and I’ve never read anything about it. You can check out the review I did on my old blog here; http://gabbytheblogger.blogspot.com.au/2016/10/holding-up-universe-jennifer-niven.html
-5 Stars

‘THE DEVIL YOU KNOW’ – Trish Doller
-I haven’t read a mystery/thriller book in a while, so I was really excited to pick this one up. Although it isn’t the best I’ve read, I really enjoyed it. There was a lot of suspense and thrill, and it was quite short which made it a nice quick read. You can check the review I did on this blog here; https://alwaysandforeverreading.wordpress.com/2016/10/18/first-blog-post/
-4.5 Stars

‘THREE DARK CROWNS’ – Kendare Blake
-When this book was first sent to me, I had really high hopes for it. The story concept was really interesting to me and I couldn’t wait to pick it up. But when I was reading it I found myself a bit bored at times and couldn’t enjoy the book as much as I wanted to.
-3.5 Stars

‘GOODWOOD’ – Holly Throsby
-I won this in a Dymock’s competition to review on their website, and I didn’t have high expectations since it was an Australian set adult culture book (I think that’s what you could call it). But I actually really enjoyed it and loved the tint of mystery in it. You can check my full review out here; https://alwaysandforeverreading.wordpress.com/2016/10/21/goodwood-holly-throsby/
-4.5 Stars

‘THE SUN IS ALSO A STAR’ – Nicola Yoon
-MY FAVOURITE BOOK OF THE MONTH! I absolutely loved this book and I want to talk about it forever. The book is told through multiple perspectives, and not all of the perspectives are human, and I loved that. And the ending left me in chills. You can check out my full review here;
– 5 Stars

‘SENSE AND SENSIBILITY’ – Jane Austin
-My classic for the month. I enjoyed the book and loved reading about the characters and their relationships with the boys. I loved the first half of the book, but it wasn’t the best Austin book I’ve read. I’m working my way through watching the movies now.
-4 Stars

BOOKS I READ DURING ‘DEWEY’S 24 HOUR READATHON’ – https://alwaysandforeverreading.wordpress.com/2016/10/28/deweys-24-hour-readathon/
‘THE FENCE’ – Meredith Jaffe
‘MISS YOU’ – Kate Eberlen
‘BETWEEN SISTERS’ – Kristin Hannah

 

So that was what I read this month. Comment down below what your favourite book was that you read this month, and if you read any of the same books as me! I’ll see you guys all next week with a new blog post 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

