TAG TUESDAY: Aussie Book Tag

FullSizeRender (8).jpg

I’ve been wanting to do this tag for so long and I’m finally getting around to it. This week is AUSSIE WEEK on my blog. Today, for Tag Tuesday, I’m doing the AUSSIE BOOK TAG and for Friday Favourites I’ll be talking about some of my favourite books by Australian authors. Without further ado, here’s the tag.

If you are an australian book blogger, I TAG YOU and comment below 🙂

KOALA: A character you want to cuddle all day long
Peter Kavinsky from ‘Too all the Boy’s I’ve Loved Before’ by Jenny Haan. I mention him in almost every tag, but I just love him. I want a Peter hug!

FullSizeRender (2).jpg

VEGEMITE: A book you like that everyone else hates
Firstly, I HATE vegemite, but for the sake of the question I’m going to pretend that I like it. For this one, I’m going with ‘A Court of Thorns and Roses’ by Sarah J. Maas. It’s not that everyone hates this book, but a majority of people said they didn’t enjoy it as much as they thought they would. And everyone else loved ACOMAF whereas I prefer ACOTAR… I’m still a Tamlin shipper (I HAVE NO SHAME!).

FullSizeRender (3).jpg

SOCCEROOS: Favourite fictional squad
Andie’s friendship group from ‘The Unexpected Everything’ by Morgan Matson. I can’t remember all their names, and the boys and girls in this group were all so cute and so much fun together and it was great to read a contemporary group that focused on more than just a relationship between the two main characters. I wanted to be in the book hanging out with these kids… it seemed like so much fun.

FullSizeRender (4).jpg

SOUTHERN CROSS: Most recent 5 star read
‘The Sun is Also a Star’ by Nicola Yoon. This book is incredible and put me through a million different emotions within the short 300 something pages. I have a full review of TSIAAS on this blog which you can check out!

fullsizerender-5

PATRIOTISM: Favourite book by an author from your country
‘Breathing Under Water’ by Sophie Hardcastle. This is one of the most inspirational, beautiful and emotiol books I’ve ever read, and it’s definitely one of the best books I’ve read in 2016. More people need to read this spectacular book.

fullsizerender-6

ECHIDNA: A book you like to look at but physically hurts to read
I think I’m meant to choose a book that has a pretty cover but crap story, so for this I’m going with ‘Tripping Back Blue’ by Kara Storti. I have the hard cover of this book, and it’s so pretty that I even face it forwards on my book shelf. BUT I was so bored with the story that I can’t even tell you what happened.

FullSizeRender (9).jpg

NED KELLY: A book that is really grim but an iconic must-read
I don’t really know how to answer this question, but I am going to go with ‘Pride and Prejudice’ by Jane Austen. I know that this books isn’t grim, but I didn’t feel anything for it, yet it’s one of those books that you need to read.

FullSizeRender (10).jpg

GREAT BARRIER REEF: A book that had you gaping with awe
‘Whisper to Me’ by Nick Lake. It wouldn’t be a tag without me mentioning this amazing book. I was shocked, emotional, and scared when reading this book, and that’s what made it so amazing. The story covers everything from romance, grief, mental health, friendship, family, and finding yourself. Everyone needs to read this!

FullSizeRender (11).jpg

PAVLOVA: A light and fluffy book that you can’t help but love
I’m looking forward to Christmas day so I can have a pieve of pav again! For this one I’m going with the ‘Anna and the French Kiss’ companion trilogy. All three of these books are just so cute and such easy reads. I really want to read them all again… if only I had the time.

fullsizerender-7

MILO: A genre/author you reach for to get you out of a reading slump
I don’t have a specific book or author that I reach for, but any quick, light contemporary book is usually what I pick up if I don’t really feel like reading. Those books that are set for a younger audience that would probably be crap if reading any other way…

 

So that’s the Aussie Book Tag. Comment below if you are a fellow Aussie and if you have participated in the tag so I can check it out!

Don’t forget to follow all my social mediaaaaaas…

Instagram: @readbooksread
Twitter: @RBRgabby
Snapchat: @readbooksread
Goodreads: @readbooksread
Books Amino: @readbooksread

Leave a Reply

