FRIDAY FAVOURITES: book to movie adaptations

A lot of people talk about how they don’t like book to movie/TV show adaptations and wished that they didn’t happen. But I personally love movies just as much as books. So today for Friday Favourites I’m talking about ten of my favourite movies that were adapted from books.

Love, Rosie – Cecilia Ahern
I picked this book up when I saw the trailer for the movie. When I read the book I loved it – it was different and the format was completely unique. But when I saw the movie, I actually loved it more than the book. Lily Collins and Sam Claflin did an amazing job playing the characters and even some of the changes that they made for the movie was for the best.

The Fault in our Stars – John Green
I was a big fan of TFIOS when it was released and read it about five times before seeing the movie because I loved it so much. I was scared for what was going to happen with the movie, but when I saw it (three times in the cinema) it was amazing. There are a few differences from the book, but overall it was pretty accurate. Shailene and Ansel portrayed Hazel and Augustus beautifully. Plus the movie soundtrack is AMAZING!

Me Before You – Jojo Moyes
I read the book when the first trailer was released because it looked incredibly emotional and I love a good cry when reading. I loved the book, and I can say that I also loved the movie (I also saw it three times in the cinema). The portrayal of the book is so accurate and I cried even more in the movie than I did in the book. Once again Sam Claflin did amazing as always, as did Emilia Clarke. The soundtrack to this movie is also amazing and I’m listening to it on Spotify ย right now!

The 5th Wave – Rick Yancey
I saw the movie before I read the book. It was one of those movies where I thought the trailer looked good so I went and saw it with my brother, but I ended up really enjoying it. When I found out there was a book series I picked the two released books up and the later released final book. I love all of the books and the movie and I really hope they continue making the second and third movie.

If I Stay – Gayle Forman
I remember being in year 11 at school in Biology class when the girl I was sitting with showed me the first released trailer for If I Stay. When she told me it was a book I knew I needed to pick it up straight away. I binge read the first and second book and loved them, and the movie was just as amazing and emotional. I really wished they would make the movie for Where She Went just to get that closure, but since I read the book I know what happens anyway.

City of Bones – Cassandra Clare
This is one of those movies where big Shadow Hunters fans cannot stand and always talk about how bad it was. I watched the movie at the beginning of the year before reading the books and I fell in love with the characters and story line. I’ve since read The Mortal Instruments series but I think it was Jamie Campell Bower that made me fall in love with Jace’s character. Not only because he is HAWT but his wit and portrayal of Jace was hilarious.

The Lovely Bones – Alice Sebold
I read this book for my year 12 English major to compare with The Book Thief, and I really enjoyed the thrill and emotion from the book. I watched the movie with my family and loved how it was portrayed. It definitely kept the emotion from the loss of a young girl and the other victims, the suspense of the family finding out her killer, and the touching story that was told.

Looking for Alibrandi – Melina Marchetta
Now I don’t know if I can count this on my list because I’ve never read the book, but I watched the movie the other day and it is incredible so I really want to pick up the book soon. The book and movie is one that Australian school students have complained about for years because they had to study it for high school English. Unfortunately for me, I never got given the chance in school to study it, but I know that I wouldn’t have complained about the humour of the movie and similarities that I shared with Josie.

The Carrie Diaries – Candice Bushnell
I know TCD was adapted to a TV series that counts as the prequel to Sex and the City, ย but I really wanted to talk about it. I discovered the TV series through Austin Butler’s imdb so I decided to watch the two series and it is amazing. I have since re-watched it and loved it even more the second time. I was sad that the series had been canceled so I decided to read the books to re-live the memories. I was disappointed to find that the books are nothing close to the series and Austin’s character, Sebastian, is barely mentioned only in the first book. But oh well, because the TV series was amazing.

The Perks of Being a Wallflower – Stephen Chbosky
I think I read this book after the movie was released but before I saw it. I read it quickly and loved the emotional aspect and the character of Charlie. When I saw the movie not long after, it was incredible. Logan Lerman portrayed Charlie beautifully, as did Emma Watson for her character. This books had so many amazing aspects about it and I’m so glad that the movie used all of it to it’s advantage.

So that’s just ten of my favourite book to movie adaptations. Comment down below if you can recommend any more to me and I’ll be sure to check them out (I’m always looking for more movies and TV series to watch)!

 

Leave a Reply

