‘HEARTLESS’ – Marissa Meyer

FullSizeRender (42).jpg

I was lucky enough to be contacted by Pan Macmillan to be apart of the blog tour for Heartless and receive an arc to review. The Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer is one of my favourite series and I couldn’t wait to get stuck into Heartless.

When I heard that this was going to be a retelling of Alice in Wonderland, focusing on the Queen of Hearts before she came the Queen of Hearts, I didn’t know what to expect and whether or not I would like it. I’m not a massive fan of Alice in Wonderland, but the idea of the book was so intriguing. Obviously, we all know that Cath ends up evil and malicious in the end, but how did she get there?

“Long before she was the terror of Wonderland—the infamous Queen of Hearts—she was just a girl who wanted to fall in love.
Catherine may be one of the most desired girls in Wonderland, and a favorite of the unmarried King of Hearts, but her interests lie elsewhere. A talented baker, all she wants is to open a shop with her best friend. But according to her mother, such a goal is unthinkable for the young woman who could be the next queen.
Then Cath meets Jest, the handsome and mysterious court joker. For the first time, she feels the pull of true attraction. At the risk of offending the king and infuriating her parents, she and Jest enter into an intense, secret courtship. Cath is determined to define her own destiny and fall in love on her terms. But in a land thriving with magic, madness, and monsters, fate has other plans.” – Goodreads

CHARACTERS: From the very beginning, Cath wants nothing more than to be her own person. She wants to own a bakery and work with her best friend, and it’s been their dreams for their entire lives. But when Cath catches the King’s eye, and her mother wants the opposite for Cath than what Cath wants for herself, I could see things begin to un-spiral. I felt sorry for her and the ruled life that she would have to live, but I kept asking myself how could such a young and sweet girl become the evil Queen of Hearts. As I neared the end of the book, it all made sense.
Jest, the YA heart throb that every reader ships with the main female character. Cath and Jest’s  insta love was very instant, one night to be exact, but in developed so much from then on. They were cute together and it reminded me of the beautiful couples in each of The Lunar Chronicles books… they were meant to be.

STORY LINE: I loved the beginning of the book and I could really see myself enjoying the overall story line. However, I feel that the middle section was a little bit boring to me and I became un-interested in what was happening. I don’t know if this had anything to do with me not enjoying the original Alice in Wonderland, or if I simply wasn’t enjoying this plot, but either way I ended up skim reading the middle section.
But in the end, around the last hundred or so pages, Marissa Meyer definitely redeemed herself. The plot picked up and I began to get excited about what was happening and how the book was going to end.

ENDING: Like I said, i absolutely loved the ending and it would have to be my favourite aspect of the book. There was so much drama and suspense, and a whole lot of different emotions arose. I began to understand exactly how sweet and innocent Cath became the evil and cruel Queen of Hearts. As badly as I want to type it out here, you will have to read the book yourself to find out!

RATING: Overall, I decided to give Heartless 4.5 stars out of 5. The characters were written beautifully and I loved seeing them transition and develop as the plot continued. I also loved the beginning of the book and especially the ending, however, my only problem was the middle of the book was a bit slow for me. I didn’t love Heartless as much as I love The Lunar Chronicles, but if you love Marissa Meyer’s work, Alice in Wonderland, or if this sounds like something you’d like to read, then I highly recommend picking it up and reading the story of how Cath became the Queen of Hearts.

One thought on “‘HEARTLESS’ – Marissa Meyer

Leave a Reply

