‘GIRL ONLINE GOING SOLO’ – Zoe Sugg

FullSizeRender (43).jpg

Guys, I’m really annoyed right now because I wrote up a really good review for this book and it was so detailed, but it dissapeared! I don’t know where it went because this site even autosaves your work, so I’m going to quickly try and write the review up again before I post it! Hope you enjoy!

Thanks to Penguin for sending me a copy of Girl Online Going Solo to review. I read the other two books in the series at the beginning of the year and I love how warm and light hearted the stories are, yet they still manage to cover some important issues.

“As Penny starts the school year she’s ready to face the world – alone. Noah has gone off the radar after ending his world tour early and no one, including Penny, knows where he is. So when she accepts Megan’s invitation to visit her performing arts school it seems like an opportunity to make some new friends.
Helping everyone else seems to be the right remedy – Elliot needs her friendship more than ever, and she meets Posey, who she can really help with her stage fright. But is charming Scottish boy Callum the right kind of distraction? And can Penny truly move on when Noah’s shadow seems to haunt her round every corner?” – Goodreads

CHARACTERS: Penny has developed so much over this series. She stars off in Girl Online as someone who is hiding a lot from her family and the world, including her potential. But I feel like in Going Solo her character blossoms and we get to see how much she has grown. She is still blogging, helping friends, and dealing with boy troubles, but she has also come to the realisation that she needs to remove any negative energy in her life. I feel like Penny’s character is relatable especially to girls in high school. I would have loved to read a book like this when I was that age.
I love Noah! I could honestly read about it all day and I want to talk about him all day. He is charming, sweet and just perfect. Although Noah is MIA he still manages to have this affect on Penny and she just can’t seem to forget about him no matter what she’s doing with her life.
There were also so many other characters in the book that helped develop the story including Meghan, Posey, Elliot and Penny’s family. All of these people have different impacts on Penny’s life and I find it so interesting to read just how much these characters differ.

STORY LINE: The Girl Online books all have simple story lines that are easy to follow and they are all light hearted. They are good if you’re in a reading slump or just want something quick and easy to read. But what I love about them is that they still manage to talk about serious issues and themes which add to the story line.
I read Going Solo in a couple of days but I couldn’t put it down (I had exams to study for so I pretty much had to force myself to close the book). I just wanted to know how Penny’s story was going to end and I needed to be reassured that everything was going to end up okay!

ENDING: I love how all the Girl Online books end so nicely with all the events that occurred wrapped up well and leaving me with a smile. It was such a beautiful conclusion to a beautiful trilogy.

RATING: 5 stars once again! It may not be the best written book with the most complex and plot driven story line, but it is the perfect light read and I think it would be my favourite book if I was a younger reader.

Comment below if you’ve read any of the Girl Online books and let me know what you think of them. I’m still so angry that my original review went somewhere??? because it was so much better than this one. But I have to get back to writing for Nanowrimo, so I’ll see you guys soon on Fridy.

Leave a Reply

