BOOKMAS DAY 2: two YA debut’s of 2016

d2

Welcome back for Day 2 of BOOKMAS. Today I’m talking about my top two favourite YA debut’s that were released this year. I realised that I actually haven’t read many author debut’s this year, but the two that I’m talking today, I absolutely loved so I can’t wait to share them with you.

 

Songs About A Girl – Chris Russel

Charlie Bloom never wanted to be ‘with the band’. She’s happiest out of the spotlight, behind her camera, unseen and unnoticed. But when she’s asked to take backstage photos for hot new boy band Fire&Lights, she can’t pass up the chance.
Catapulted into a world of paparazzi and backstage bickering, Charlie soon becomes caught between gorgeous but damaged frontman, Gabriel West, and his boy-next-door bandmate Olly Samson. Then, as the boys’ rivalry threatens to tear the band apart, Charlie stumbles upon a mind-blowing secret, hidden in the lyrics of their songs…

I bought this books last month on a whim – which hardly ever happens to me. I needed to spend $75 at Dymocks if I wanted a free book bag, and I still needed to choose one book which I hadn’t thought about prior to entering the store. As I was scanning the shelves, the cover and the name of the book caught my eye. And when I read the blurb, I knew that it was something that I wanted to read.

The story was amazingly entertaining, and even though it is quite a lengthy size for a contemporary, I managed to read it in just over a day. I loved the romance and it is unlikely for me to enjoy a love triangle, but Chris Russel did such a good and subtle job at it that I didn’t mind (I am personally TEAM GABRIEL!).

Even though it reminded me a bit of a One Direction Fan-Fic (yes, I’m confessing to reading them back in the day), I absolutely loved this YA debut. I can’t wait for the sequel to come out (hopefully in 2017).

 

Our Chemical Hearts – Krystal Sutherland

Henry Page has never been in love. He fancies himself a hopeless romantic, but the slo-mo, heart palpitating, can’t-eat-can’t-sleep kind of love that he’s been hoping for just hasn’t been in the cards for him—at least not yet. Instead, he’s been happy to focus on his grades, on getting into a semi-decent college and finally becoming editor of his school newspaper. Then Grace Town walks into his first period class on the third Tuesday of senior year and he knows everything’s about to change.
 Grace isn’t who Henry pictured as his dream girl—she walks with a cane, wears oversized boys’ clothes, and rarely seems to shower. But when Grace and Henry are both chosen to edit the school paper, he quickly finds himself falling for her. It’s obvious there’s something broken about Grace, but it seems to make her even more beautiful to Henry, and he wants nothing more than to help her put the pieces back together again. And yet, this isn’t your average story of boy meets girl. Krystal Sutherland’s brilliant debut is equal parts wit and heartbreak, a potent reminder of the bittersweet bliss that is first love.

This book was sent to me by Penguin in exchange for a review, and I am so glad that they sent it to me because I question whether or not I would have read it otherwise. I love a good contemporary, but this is different to any that I have read before. Not only does it focus on romance and first love, but there’s diversity, grief and heartbreak.

I think the part that I loved most about this book was the ending. It was realistic and something different from other YA contemporaries. It was sad and heartbreaking, yet it brought me back to reality and was quite heart warming when I thought about it.

I almost met the author, Krystal Sutherland, at Dymocks for the book launch. I was so excited as well because I finished the book the day before and I really wanted to support this amazing new Aussie author. Unfortunately, the night of the launch the whole state had a black out, which mean my use of transport into the city (the tram) wasn’t running and the streets were in chaos. Hopefully someday soon she will write another book and come to Adelaide so I can tell her how amazing she is.

 

Comment down below if you are participating in BOOKMAS or if you have read any of these books and let me know what you think of them. I want to know what you favourite debut of the year was.

Leave a Reply

