BOOKMAS DAY 5: five finales/sequels of 2016

d5

Welcome back for day 5 of BOOKMAS. Today I’m going to be talking about five of my favourite books from series that were released and I read this year. Hope you enjoy!

 

A Court of Mist and Fury – Sarah J. Maas

This is the second book from the A Court of Thorns and Roses trilogy. I read ACOTAR at the beginning of the year in one day (somehow) and I absolutely loved it. Feyre and Tamlin are just GOALD and Tamlin became one of my favourite book boyfriends ever! I was super keen for ACOMAF to come out, and even though I still loved it (that’s why it’s on the list) I was dissapointed with how Tamlin was portrayed. Tamlin changed from this amazing guy that everyone loved, and suddenly people can’t stand him any more. I love Rhys and I even loved his when he was portrayed as a douche in ACOTAR, but I’m still Team Tamlin (and I think I’m the only one).

 

Girl Online Going Solo – Zoe Sugg

This is the third (and I think the final) book in Zoella’s Girl Online trilogy. I read the first two books near the beginning of the year and I relly enjoyed them, despite them being directed to a much younger audience. I think Going Solo was my second favourite from the series (after the first book) and it was fun to see how much Penny had developed over the course of the three books. I have a spoiler free review to Girl Online Going Solo which you can check out under the “reviews” tab.

 

The Last Star – Rick YanceyΒ 

I read the first two books in this trilogy near the beginning of the year after watching The 5th Wave movie and absolutely loving it. A lot went down in this book and even though I was sad that the trilogy was ending, I couldn’t wait to see how it was going to end. Being sci-fi, there was a lot of action and drama, but I was surprised with the amount of heart break and emotion that the book brought out of me. The ending was absolutely tragic and I didn’t see it coming at all, but in a way I loved how it ended.

 

Gemina – Amy Kaufman and Jay Kristoff

Illuminae was one of the first books that I read this year, and despite the unique format and how much I loved the romance between the two main characters, I didn’t love the book as much as everyone else did. I still liked it enough to continue on with the series, so when I bought the book at the Dymock’s launch and got to meet Amy and Jay, I was still really excited to read it. I ended up finishing the book in just over a day because I couldn’t put it down. I found a new love for sci-fi, even though I found a lot of it a little bit confusing. I also loved the new characters that we were introduced to and reading about the Illuminae characters again. I cannot wait for the final book in this trilogy to be released.

 

Username; Regenerated – Joe Sugg

Sorry, I’ve put another YouTuber (and Sugg) book on this list, but I had to. The first ever graphic novel that I read was Username; Evie and I really enjoyed it, and when I found out that Joe was releasing a second one in the series, I couldn’t wait to get my hands on it. Even though I’m still not a massive graphic novel fan, the Username series is an exception. The characters are unique and the story idea is different to anything that I’ve read before, and I loved reading the new adventure that Evie went on in the sequel.

 

Comment below what your favourite new release of a series was this year. Be sure to stay tuned for more BOOKMAS posts like this one!

2 thoughts on “BOOKMAS DAY 5: five finales/sequels of 2016

  1. charlottereads26 December 18, 2016 / 2:21 am

    I haven’t read ACOMAF yet but I also loved Tamlin in ACOTAR so I’m worried I’m gonna hate him now 😦

    Like

Leave a Reply

