BOOKMAS DAY 9: nine authors I discovered in 2016

d9

Jenny Han

I read ‘To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before’ at the beginning of the year and I love it! It has become one of my favourite contemporaries, and Peter is my number one book boyfriend! They didn’t have the second book, ‘PS I Still Love You’ in stock until months later and I love that one just as much. Then a few months ago I marathoned  ‘The Summer I Turned Pretty’ trilogy which is a great summer series. I can’t wait for her to release more work.

 

Morgan Matson

Another great contemporary writer. I read ‘Second Chance Summer’ first and even though a lot of people say that it’s their least favourite of her work, I loved it. I also read ‘Since You’ve Been Gone’ and ‘The Unexpected Everything’ since and I love them. I can’t decide which one is my favourite out of the three because they all have their pros and cons. I haven’t read ‘Amy and Roger’s Epic Detour’ yet but I really want to.

 

Huntley Fitzpatrick

I read ‘My Life Next Door’ first after Hailey from “Hailey in Bookland” YouTube channel because she talked about it all the time. It was such a fun contemporary and I loved the romance between the two characters. I then read ‘What I Thought Was True’ which also had a great contemporary but I don’t think I enjoyed it as much. I know she has another book which I really want to read soon… hopefully.

 

Cassandra Clare

Before this year, I had never been interested in any of the Shadowhunters books. Everyone in the book community raved about them but they didn’t sound like something I would like. So I watched the City of Bones movie first which I LOVED and then I read TMI series over the course of a few months and I really enjoyed them. I haven’t read any of the other books yet but I want to get around to them in 2017. I also watched Season 1 of Shadowhunters which is incredible!

 

Sophie Hardcastle

Sophie is a fantastic Australian YA author who I talk about in almost every blog post. I unexpectedly received an arc of ‘Breathing Under Water’ in the mail and read it in less than a day. It is one of the best and most beautiful books that I’ve ever read. I then read her memoir which was beautifully heartbreaking and put me through so many emotions. I really want her to release more books!

 

Sarah J. Maas

Even though I don’t love her books as much as everyone else does, her writing and story lines in her books are so unique and creative. I read the first four books plus the novella in the Throne of Glass series – I loved the first two books but things went down hill from there. I then read ACOTAR and I loved it so much that I finished it in a day. I have since read her 2016 releases and enjoyed both of them.

 

Marissa Meyer

The Lunar Chronicles is one of my favourite sci-fi series, or really just series all together! I’m pretty sure I read all four of them in a row because I kept wanting more! Cress and Captain Thorne are my favourite, but I still loved every single character. Comment below if you think I should read the novella’s because I’ve been putting it off. I also read Heartless for a blog tour (check out my review) which I enjoyed but it is no where near as good as TLC!

 

Amie Kaufman & Jay Kristoff

I’m doing these two together because I discovered them at the same time. I read Illuminae in January and I enjoyed it, but I didn’t love it. I then went to their book launch for Gemina (check out my blog post about it) and I got to meet both of them. They are so funny and nice and it was such a fun night. I read Gemina a couple months ago I think and I loved it so much! It was so intense and so much happened – can’t wait for the next book even though it’s going to be the last.

 

Siobhan Curham

Unlike the rest of the authors from this list, I have only read one book from Siobhan Curham. I received ‘The Moonlight Dreamers’ to review, and it is such a fun a cute read (highly recommend!). I got the opportunity to interview Siobhan over on my old blog and she is so lovely. I know she has more books and I really want to read them.

 

Day 9 complete! Comment below which authors you discovered this year and I’ll see you tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

