BOOKMAS DAY 10: ten series I completed in 2016

d10

Before this year, I hadn’t actually read many series. This year, since I have become more involved in the book community, I have discovered more series that interest me and that I want to read. So I managed to complete ten series/trilogies this year. Comment below what series you finished this year!

 

Harry Potter – JK Rowling

That’s right… I had never read or watched the Harry Potter series before December last year.Β Both of my brothers have always been obsessed with them, but I never gave them a second look. I read most of them in a row from December 2015 to maybe February 2016 and watched each movie after each book. Goblet of Fire is my favourite! I also read both screenplays that were released this year, and I can officially say that I am a Harry Potter fan!

 

The Lunar Chronicles – Marissa Meyer

I talked about this in my last post, but The Lunar Chronicles is one of my favourite series ever! What I love about this series is that it focuses on the main character and their love interest, yet still features characters from the previous books. I love fairy tales and re-tellings, but these were so unique and I loved the touch of sci-fi. I feel like each book got better and better, but Cress and Captain Thorne are my favourite characters to read about.

 

Hush, Hush series – Becca Fitzpatrick

I received Crescendo (the third book in the series) in a show bag a million years ago. When I joined the book community and realised that the series was big and I began to get more interested in fantasy, I decided to pick up the rest of the books so I could finally read it. I enjoyed it and felt that it definitely developed as the books went on, but it still isn’t one of the best series that I’ve read.

 

Girl Online trilogy – Zoe Sugg

I read the first two books closer to the beginning of the year and I loved how Zoe could write such a fun, cute and lighthearted book, yet still cover some very important topics such as anxiety and growing up. I love Zoe’s YouTube channel, and I love her books just as much. I then read the conclusion, Girl Online Going Solo, when it was released last month (check out my review) and it was such a good way to end a lovely series.

 

Miss Peregrine’s trilogy – Ransom Riggs

I discovered this trilogy through Jesse the Reader who talks about it all the time, and I also thought that the covers and the pictures inside were so intriguing. I picked up all three books and read them all in a row, and I liked them. I feel like the first book was my favourite, but after that I got a little bit confused. I still haven’t seen the movie but I really want to!

 

The 5th Wave trilogy – Rick Yansey

I saw The 5th Wave movie in January when it was released and I loved it (are they going to make the other books into movies?). So I picked up the first two books which were the only ones that were released and I really enjoyed them and I loved how accurate the movie was. Then I read The Last Star which was the conclusion released a few months ago and it was so intense and emotional. I love this trilogy, and if you love sci-fi I highly recommend!

 

The Mortal Instruments – Cassandra Clare

You guys know my deal with this series; for so long I didn’t think I would like it, then I watched the CoB movie and I loved it so I read the series and I’m so glad that I did. I was a little bit confused at times because there are so many characters and so much goes down, but it is amazing and unique. I’ve watched Shadowhunters season one this month and I can’t wait for season 2! I also plan on reading The Infernal Devices in 2017.

 

The Winner’s trilogy – Marie Rutkoski

Another great trilogy that a lot of people in the book community talk about. I received The Winner’s Kiss (the final book) by the publisher to review, but I hadn’t read the first two books. I loved the first book and had such high hopes for the rest, but the second and third books didn’t have the same affect on me. I think that the story concept was interesting, and I think it was more dystopian than fantasy, but I found some parts of it a little bit confusing.

 

The Summer I Turned Pretty trilogy – Jenny Han

Even though this is a summer series, I read it in the middle of winter but I still loved it just as much. I usually get so annoyed when books have love triangles in it, and the fact that this one was between two brothers made it even more cringey, but I still loved this series despite that. I was team Conrad the whole way because I loved how realistic he was, and him and Belly are just so cute!!!!

 

Worldwalker trilogy – Josephine Angelini

I received all three books from Pan Macmillan to do a series review (check it out under REVIEWS on my blog). I loved the first book, and since I read The Crucible in highschool, I got to make the comparisons and see the similarities. But I feel like the second and third book went a bit down hill from there. I just found everything a bit confusing, and although I still enjoyed reading them and the characters, they didn’t compare to the first book.

 

Only two days left of BOOKMAS! I’m so excited for Christmas! See you tomorrow for day 11.

Leave a Reply

