‘A QUIET KIND OF THUNDER’ – Sara Barnard

SIOBHAN CURHAM (2).png

Thanks to Pan Macmillan for sending me an arc to read and review and for letting me be a part of the official blog tour for A Quiet Kind of Thunder. The synopsis immediately intrigued me and I couldn’t wait to see the adventures that this book was about to take me on.

Steffi doesn’t talk, but she has so much to say.
Rhys can’t hear, but he can listen.
Their love isn’t a lightning strike, it’s the rumbling roll of thunder.

Steffi has been a selective mute for most of her life – she’s been silent for so long that she feels completely invisible. But Rhys, the new boy at school, sees her. He’s deaf, and her knowledge of basic sign language means that she’s assigned to look after him. To Rhys, it doesn’t matter that Steffi doesn’t talk, and as they find ways to communicate, Steffi finds that she does have a voice, and that she’s falling in love with the one person who makes her feel brave enough to use it.

cvb.JPG

CHARACTERS:

I have so much to say about two of the most beautiful characters I have read about in a long time! Both characters are so unique and diverse, but despite how different they are from the rest of the world, they are such relatable characters.

Steffi is a selective mute and has a constant struggle with anxiety, but there’s something about Rhys that makes her want to scream out to the world how much she loves him. Steffi develops so much throughout the course of the novel; she grows confidence, her panic attacks come less often and she is put in the position where she has to talk to people that she wouldn’t usually have the confidence to talk to.

Rhys on the other hand is a lot more “out there” than Steffi. He is deaf, but he doesn’t let that stop him from letting everyone into his life. But what Rhys needs to learn about is that sometimes it’s okay to let people help you when you need it without thinking that you are a burden.

I loved reading about Steffi and Rhys’ relationship and how their completely different worlds come colliding together when they both need each other the most.

 

PLOT/STORY LINE:

AQKoT is a quick and simple story that covers a unique topic that isn’t so simple. The combination of diverse characters, an intriguing plot, relationships and friendships, and the beautiful writing style, made this book so fun and easy for me to read. There are so many great factors in this book that it’s hard to fault – I just had so much fun reading it that I never wanted it to end!

I mentioned this before, but I loved how much the characters developed by the end of the book. Their descriptions of being mute, anxious or deaf may make them sound like they’re weak with problematic lives, but it’s actually the opposite. The story talks about how wonderful your life can be in spite of the problems that you may have previously faced.

I have never read a book that covers these topics before and so I found it so interesting to read. Steffi’s character especially intrigued me because I see a lot of myself in her. It was so nice to read about a character that I can somewhat relate to and that I can understand what she is feeling. I would love to read more books that talk about selective mutism and anxiety.

 

ENDING:

Despite the drama and conflict that went down right before the end, I really enjoyed the ending. It was peaceful and left me feeling satisfied with the overall story. Each of the character’s lives were wrapped up nicely and no plot holes were left behind (I HATE PLOT HOLES!). Such a beautiful way to wrap up such a beautiful book.

 

RATING:

I decided to give AQKoT 4.5 stars out of 5. I highly recommend picking this up if you want to read books that cover a diverse range of topics or if it sounds like it would interest you. Let me know if you have read the book or if you plan on reading it – I would love to hear your thoughts!

 

A Quiet Kind of Thunder

Leave a Reply

