To DNF or Push Through

DNR or PUSH THROUGH-.pngHi guys! So today I thought that I’d do something different to the usual Tag Tuesday, Friday Favourite, or book review. Instead, we’re going to have a discussion of what we do when we’re reading a book but we’re not enjoying it.

Comment down below, so you;

a) push through and finish the book anyway

b) put the book down and maybe finish it later

c) DNF (do not finish) the book all together

d) something else?
As much as I would love to day that I don’t want to waste my time reading a book or watching a movie that I’m not enjoying, but it’s just not something that I usually do. I have been in the middle of reading a book multiple times that I find completely boring and have no interest in reading anymore, but I just physically can’t let myself put it down. Maybe I just don’t want to think that I’ve wasted my time reading what I’ve read of the book so far – but what about the time that I waste finishing the book just for the sake of being able to say “I finished it”?

So, have I ever DNF’d a book? From memory, the only two books I’ve put down and never picked up again is ‘Carry On’ by Rainbow Rowell and ‘The Rosie Effect’ by Graeme Simsion.

I so badly wanted to love ‘Carry On’ – Rainbow Rowell is such an amazing author and I loved ‘Fangirl’, ‘Landline’ and ‘Eleanor and Park’ (‘Attachments’ was a bit boring for me), plus everyone always raves about how much they love ‘Carry On’. Eventually, maybe half way through, I decided that I didn’t want to waste my time reading a book that I wasn’t enjoying. I was in the middle of reading the ‘Harry Potter’ series at the time which may have had something to do with it, or maybe there were so many other books on my TBR that I wanted to read and didn’t want to waste my time with one that I didn’t want to read. I would like to pick it up again one day and give it another try, but at that point I just wasn’t in the mood.

And with ‘TRE’ which is the sequel to ‘The Rosie Project’, I was younger when I read it and it’s an adult fiction. This is another popular book, yet I just couldn’t stand to read anymore. The characters annoyed me and the story was boring. I just had a lot of guts in me that day to force myself to put the book down and focus on things that bring enjoyment to me!

There are so many books that I’ve wanted to stop reading because they’re boring, but I’ve stuck through it either because I’ve had to write a review or simply because I can’t stand not knowing how something ends despite how much I don’t really care at the same time (does that make sense?). Some books include; The Dry, Falling, a lot of the classics that I read this year, Heir of Fire, Glass Sword, and I’m sure there are a lot more!

The inspiration of this blog post occurred to me last week. I was watching a movie that I found in our DVD cabinet – ‘No Stranger Than Love’. Sounds like a fun and cute rom-com, right? It isn’t a well known movie, but I usually like those kinds of works that really fly under the radar. I started off the movie and it was okay, but about a half an hour in I was bored and wanted to watch something else. But I couldn’t stand to not know how it ended. Basically, the story of the movie is a married man goes over to his coworkers house and they’re about to have an affair, before a massive hole opens in the middle of the woman’s living room. The man falls down the hole and there is no way to get him out and they don’t want to tell anyone because then they will suspect he is having an affair. I didn’t care for the story, but something inside me NEEDED to know how the man got out of the hole. In the end he got out with the help of their neighbours, the wife found out about he affair but forgave him anyway, and the woman whose house it is ended up getting with some other character who I never cared to learn who they were. The moral of my story is that I wanted to know how he got out the whole, but when I found out, it was just as much as a let down as the rest of the movie was.

I read a quote once that goes like this;

Don’t settle: don’t finish crappy books. If you don’t like the menu, leave the restaurant. If you’re not on the right path, get off it.

 – Chris Brogan


It’s true – life is short. So why waste time reading a book just for the sake of reading it? Something that I want to do in 2017 is to waste my time doing things or reading books, that I don’t enjoy. Don’t settle.

I want to know what you think! DNF books or push your way through them no matter what you think of the book. Let’s discuss!

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

