‘THIS BEATS PERFECT’ – Rebecca Denton

'THIS BEATS PERFECT'.png

Thanks to Hachette for sending me an arc of ‘This Beats Perfect’ in exchange for an honest review. This was also the first book I read in 2017 (WHOOP!). This was such a fun and cute read by Rebecca Denton and I am so glad that I picked it up straight away.

Amelie Ayres has impeccable taste in music. Bowie. Bush. Bob. So when she finds herself backstage at The Keep’s only UK gig she expects to hate it; after all they are world’s most tragic band. In fact she feels a grudging respect – not (obviously) for their music, but for the work that goes in to making them megastars. And when lead singer, ‘Maxx’, is not dressed up as a cross between Elvis and a My Little Pony, he is actually rather normal, talented and has creative struggles not too dissimilar to her own.
But the next morning she wakes up rolls over and discovers a million new @’s on social media. Overnight a photo of her backstage has made her a subject of global speculation. Suddenly the world needs to know #Who’sThatGirl? – but for all the wrong reasons.
All Amelie wants is to play her music. She’s got the guitar, the songs, the soul and, in the safety of her bedroom, she’s got the voice. But when it comes to getting up on stage, she struggles with self-doubt.

sasdb.JPG

CHARACTERS: 

Amelie was such an interesting character to read about – her taste in music is different from others her age, she has slight stage fright, yet is so confident when singing by herself. I saw a lot of myself in Amelie and think that she is relatable in many ways. I was jealous of how she got to spend time with her dad in the studio (how cool would it be to meet musicians because your dad works with them). She’s a fun and bubbly character, with traits of shyness and being bubbly, and I could read about her all day.

Maxx is so friggin adorable and I fell in love with him straight away. At first, he is portrayed as the snobby boy-band type who is isolated from the rest off his band mates and only cares about himself. But we soon learn that he is the complete opposite, and probably the most down to earth guy I’ve ever read about. I loved reading about Amelie and Maxx’s relationship and how it developed over time. There was no insta-love which I am grateful for because sometimes it can be a little bit unrealistic.

 

PLOT/STORY LINE:

The only thing about this book that I didn’t particularly love was that not much actually happened in the story. Sometimes a simple story line can be good, but I feel like it was still missing something. There could have been more of a height in the story, and maybe that’s what it was missing. But apart from that, I really enjoyed everything else.

I loved how music played a big part in the story, and I think Rebecca Denton really knows her music and that definitely showed throughout the book. It added a bit of fun to the book, and if you are interested in a music that’s a bit different, then you would definitely love this book.

 

ENDING: 

The overall ending was left quite open – we can assume how it ended because of what Amelie talks about on the last page, but we never actually see or read about what happens. In a way I didn’t mind this because it leaves it open for interpretation, but I think I would have liked to see what really happened. Apart from that, everything else seemed to wrap up nicely.

 

RATING:

Overall, I decided to give this book 4 stars out of 5. This year I decided that I want to be more critical with my ratings considering last year I gave about 50% of the books I read 5 stars. In saying that, 4 stars still means that this is an amazing book and I highly recommend picking it up!

 

Let me know down below if you plan on picking up ‘This Beats Perfect’ out February 2nd!

This Beats Perfect

Leave a Reply

