‘THE EDGE OF EVERYTHING’ – Jeff Giles

VALENTINE'S DAY BOOK TAG (3).png

It’s been a shattering year for seventeen-year-old Zoe, who’s still reeling from her father’s shockingly sudden death in a caving accident and her neighbors’ mysterious disappearance from their own home. Then on a terrifying sub-zero, blizzardy night in Montana, she and her brother are brutally attacked in a cabin in the woods–only to be rescued by a mysterious bounty hunter they call X.
X is no ordinary bounty hunter. He is from a hell called the Lowlands, sent to claim the soul of Zoe’s evil attacker and others like him. Forbidden to reveal himself to anyone other than his victims, X casts aside the Lowlands’ rules for Zoe. As X and Zoe learn more about their different worlds, they begin to question the past, their fate, and their future. But escaping the Lowlands and the ties that bind X might mean the ultimate sacrifice for both of them. – Goodreads

 

Thanks to Bloomsbury for sending me a copy of TEoE to review. When I first read the synopsis, I honestly didn’t think that I would enjoy it. I haven’t been in the mood to read a fantasy in a few months, and that’s probably why I have been putting off reading this book for a couple months.

But this is a completely different fantasy book to anything that I’ve read before. There’s bounty hunter’s, Lowlands, mystery, action and thrill, but there is also emotion and a whole lot of romance, and that’s probably why I loved it so much more than I originally thought I would. Don’t get me wrong, I love a fantasy from time to time and I’ll always be eager to read the next new release, but contemporaries and stories with romance will always be what I reach for first.

 

aaa.JPG

The romance in this book was amazing – X and Zoe have such strong feelings for each other, but it wasn’t supposed to be like that. X is a bounty hunter and they’re not supposed to feel this way about people, but it was so sweet to see how he acted around Zoe and the things he said to her and his thoughts about her. It definitely added a whole other depth to the book, and the story wouldn’t be what it was without this intense romance.

But that doesn’t mean that the romance was overbearing. As I mentioned before, there were so many other themes in this book, but it was the perfect combination of each of them. I liked how the fantasy was easy to follow – the bounty hunter and Lowland aspect was intriguing and definitely added to the plot. We also had the mystery of Zoe’s father, the action of the killings, and the thrill of the snow storm in the beginning and the caves throughout. I feel that if any of these themes were removed, the book wouldn’t have been nearly as amazing.

 

123.JPG

I also want to talk about the characters in the book because I cannot fault how any of them were written. Zoe is our female heroin; she is strong and stubborn, yet she has so much love for her brother Jonah and for X and this really brought out a softer side to her. As I mentioned before, when X falls for Zoe, he shows a vulnerable side to him that he’s not supposed to have, but I love him for it. And there were so many other characters in this book, whether they were good or bad, kind or evil, that shaped the story into a great one.

I decided to give this book 4 stars out of 5, but it’s very close to 4.5. I highly recommend adding this book to your TBR if you are a fan of pretty much any YA genre, because this book has it all!

The Edge of Everything

Leave a Reply

