‘THE CHEMIST’ – Stephanie Meyer

'DRAMARAMA' (1).png

In this gripping page-turner, an ex-agent on the run from her former employers must take one more case to clear her name and save her life.
She used to work for the U.S. government, but very few people ever knew that. An expert in her field, she was one of the darkest secrets of an agency so clandestine it doesn’t even have a name. And when they decided she was a liability, they came for her without warning.
Now, she rarely stays in the same place or uses the same name for long. They’ve killed the only other person she trusted, but something she knows still poses a threat. They want her dead, and soon.
When her former handler offers her a way out, she realizes it’s her only chance to erase the giant target on her back. But it means taking one last job for her ex-employers. To her horror, the information she acquires only makes her situation more dangerous.
Resolving to meet the threat head-on, she prepares for the toughest fight of her life but finds herself falling for a man who can only complicate her likelihood of survival. As she sees her choices being rapidly whittled down, she must apply her unique talents in ways she never dreamed of.

– Goodreads

 

bn

Thanks to Hachette for sending me a copy of The Chemist to review!

When I heard that Stephanie Meyer was releasing a new book, I was so excited to pick it up and see what it had to offer. I read the Twilight series when I was in primary school, and still to this day it remains one of my most sentimental books and it definitely holds a special place in my heart. In saying this, I knew that The Chemist was going to be different, not only because it’s a different genre and age group, but Stephanie Meyer has obviously grown in her writing since her Twilight times.

As you can probably tell from the synopsis, The Chemist is an adult mystery/ psychological thriller book told from the perspective of an ex agent. Despite being a dominant young adult reader and particularly preferring contemporary books, I love a good mystery thriller from time to time and I have happened to read a lot of them over the years.So not only was I excited to read this book because of Twilight but also because I love the excitement of thrillers and solving cases of mysteries.

Unfortunately, The Chemist didn’t reach the high expectations that I held for it. When I first started reading the book, the first 100 pages actually pulled me in. I had high hopes for the main character, and I was actually really interested in what was happening and the events that were about to occur throughout. But as I continued to read, I found myself beginning to lose more and more interest.

I tried to like this book – I really did! I tried to pull myself back in and I tried to understand what was actually happening, but I soon realised that I didn’t actually care. The main character and the other minor characters were just as boring as the plot, and I just didn’t care what happened to them.

I really hate writing reviews about books that I didn’t enjoy, but one of my reading/reviewing resolutions for 2017 was to be more critical when reading and reviewing books, so that’s what I’m doing now. It wasn’t a terrible book, it just wasn’t an interesting book and it didn’t reach the high expectations that I made for it when I first picked it up. This isn’t to say that you won’t like the book – in fact I still think that you should pick it up if it sounds like something that you will enjoy.

So comment below if you’ve read The Chemist because I would love to hear your thoughts!

The Chemist

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

