NEW ADULT BOOKS… that middle age gap

VALENTINE'S DAY BOOK TAG (6).png

Young Adult is probably one of the most common and talked about age ranges here on the online book community, and a majority of the book that I read are classified as Young Adult. And as much as I love YA and reading about teenagers, I’m nearing the end of my teenage life (I’m nineteen) and I can feel myself not being able to connect to YA characters as much as I used to.

There is a very thin line between YA and NA, and after looking at my book shelves, there are a lot of books that could be either YA or NA, but that I never even thought about being NA before. Here are some New Adult books that I’ve read;

 

Maybe Someday – Colleen Hoover

Image result for new adult books

A Court of Thorns and Roses – Sarah J. Maas

Image result for a court of thorns and roses

Fangirl – Rainbow Rowell

Image result for fangirl

I Was Here – Gayle Forman

Image result for i was here book

Just One Day / Just One Year – Gayle Forman

Image result for just one day

 

Basically, while Young Adult books focus around teenagers who are usually in high school, New Adult books focus on those characters who are slightly older and are usually in college. This is me! I’m starting my second year of university this year and I want to read more books about kids who are experiencing similar things as I am.

I was looking at some New Adult reading lists on Goodreads, and to be honest there are a lot less than I thought there would be. A lot of people write coming of age books about kids in school (Young Adult), or they go on the complete other spectrum and write about adults getting married and having kids or experiencing mid-life crisis’ (Adult Fiction). So what about that middle age gap? I feel like I’m stuck in some kind of limbo we’re I’m too old to go under but too young to go over.

Don’t get me wrong, I still love Young Adult books and I probably always will, and I enjoy Adult fiction from time to time, but I think we need New Adult books. Leaving school and starting uni or college and venturing out into the real world for the first time is scary, and I think that if there were more fiction books that covered this to read about, then there would be a lot more comfort.

I’ve started many WIP’s and novel manuscripts before and I’ve always based the main character on my age at the time – the one’s I started in high school were of high school age, and the one’s I’ve written recently are of university age. I’ve recently gone back to writing a manuscript that I started when I was in year 12 about a girl who is in year 12, and even though it is easy for me to write it because I’ve experienced it before, it feels weird because I’m not that age before.

When I think about the books that I want to write and publish in the future, although I would love to write YA too, I definitely want to help broaden and expand the New Adult age category. I think that it’s a very important time in life, and we need everything we can to help up get through it. I want 18-20 something year old’s to read by books and feel like they can relate to it in that time of their life.

So comment below what you think about New Adult books, and which age category or genre you relate to the most. I would love to hear your thoughts on this topic! Also comment some of your favourite NA books.

8 Comments Add yours

  1. This is something I talk about fequently. I have a post about this going up next month I think. But New Adult today is technically that trashy romance with college aged kids. Why aren’t there coming of age stories for 19, 21, ect year olds. Going to college is an adventure. It’s new. and scary. graduating and not knowing what you’re going to do for food next week is frightening. I wanted these stories!!!

    Like

    1. YES! I agree! Most typical NA books are all about the trashy romance, so where are the ones about actual new adult issues?

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Why am I shocked that ‘Fangirl’ and ‘A Court of Thorns and roses’ are NA books haha 😂 I enjoy reading Tammara Webber’s books, like ‘Easy’-I’m not sure if you’ve read that before but I’m pretty sure it’s NA

    Like

    1. I don’t think they’re typical NA but I know that ACOTAR&ACOMAF has more mature themes whereas Fangirl has an older main character in college :). I’ve heard of her books before – I’ll have to check them out!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yeah I heard about ACOTAR & ACOMAF being more NA than YA 😄 I always had the impression that Fangirl was YA even though I knew that Cath was a college student haha. Yes, do check them out! I think ‘Easy’ was a good one

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Yeah I think it is technically YA still but oh well :). Awesome – can’t wait!

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Thanks for this post! I feel like New Adult is such a new genre that New Adult books sometimes get categorized as YA. I went to list New Adult as one of my favorite genres on Goodreads, and it wasn’t even an option! On my blog, I’m trying to get a list of indie New Adult authors going.

    Like

    1. Yes – I agree that it isn’t a very popular age span and if more people knew about it then maybe more people would write about it! Ooh, I’ll have to check it out! Thanks for reading 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

