FRIDAY FAVOURITES: book covers

BOOK COVERS.png

Today for Friday Favourites, I thought that I’d do something a little bit different and talk about book covers rather than the actual story or synopsis. I know that I tend to judge books by their covers – honestly if I’m scanning the shelves at the book store, I am less likely to pick up books with boring covers. It’s terrible, I know, but I think everyone does it. So here are some of my favourite covers!

 

The Isle of the Lost – Melissa De La Cruz

The Isle of the Lost (Descendants, #1)

I own the hard back to this book, which probably makes me love it even more. The green, red and gold all go really well together, but what I love most is the apple with the bite in it. SO PRETTY and I love the font!

 

Whisper to Me – Nick lake

Whisper to Me

Beautiful cover or not, this book is incredible and the cover definitely does it justice. Can we talk about the colours and how they all fade into each other. And the simple black sketches in the background and the massive font just tops it off.

 

Love Letters to the Dead – Ava Dellaira

Love Letters to the Dead

I haven’t read this book yet, but the cover definitely dragged me in to purchase it in the first place. I mean, the clouds blend into the night sky and it looks like she’s sitting on the title writing. The colours on this one are also amazing.

 

The Lunar Chronicles – Marissa Meyer

Cinder (The Lunar Chronicles, #1)

I love the covers to all four of these books, and even the novellas. With this one we get a preview of the characters featured in each book – the shoe for Cinder, the red cape for Scarlett, the long hair for Cress, and the apple for Winter. I also love how the blue and red go together for each book.

 

Girl in Pieces – Kathleen Gasglow

Girl in Pieces

This is the Australian paperback edition, and I actually prefer it to the original cover. It is simple, but when you look at the writing and see the stitches, it symbolises such an important part of the book. The colour of the cover is also gorgeous and the texture of the cover and title is so cool!

 

The Perks of Being a Wallflower – Stephen Chbosky

The Perks of Being a Wallflower

I own this cover and I love it so much! Even though the original green cover is nice because it’s so simple, I really love how this one is set out. With the crazy writing in the background, the photo booth pictures in the corner, and the black font of the title, this cover is just so much fun and suits the book perfectly.

 

The Sun is Also a Star – Nicola Yoon

The Sun Is Also a Star

I think it’s obvious why I love this cover so much. I loved the one for Everything, Everything as well, and it almost made it to the list, but I decided to go with this one instead. The yellow, orange, pink, blue and purple colours work so well together and the pattern that they are scattered with across the page is just gorgeous. And I love the block letters in the centre.

 

The Winner’s Trilogy – Marie Rutkowski

The Winner's Curse (The Winner's Trilogy, #1)

The covers to all three of these books are incredible. Firstly, the actual cover is a matte black (which is my favourite) and the way that the pink, red and green tie in with the black in the three different covers looks amazing. Plus the dresses that the model is wearing… (insert heart eye emoji).

 

The Selection Series – Kiera Cass

The Selection (The Selection, #1)

Another series of covers with amazing dresses. This one is my favourite dress and colour (because I love teal) but all six of them are beautiful. I’m not really a dress person, but if I was going to some extravagant ball, I would wear this! Plus I love the crown shape over the font, and the spines are also amazing.

 

The One Memory of Flora Banks – Emily Barr

The One Memory of Flora Banks

This is another really simple cover, but it’s perfect for the book. Flora writes notes on pieces of paper that she carries in her bag, and that is symbolised on the cover. Also the colour of the cover (teal again!) is beautiful!

 

And that’s it for today! Comment below what your favourite book cover is and I’ll see you on Sunday for another book review!

2 thoughts on “FRIDAY FAVOURITES: book covers

Leave a Reply

