‘DRAMARAMA’ – E. Lockhart

'DRAMARAMA'.png

Two theater-mad, self-invented, fabulositon Ohio teenagers.

One boy, one girl.
One gay, one straight.
One black, one white.

And SUMMER DRAMA CAMP.

It’s a season of
hormones,
gold lamé,
hissy fits,
jazz hands,
song and dance,
true love,
and unitards

that will determine their future
and test their friendship.

 

C4xw4ouVcAAYb9z.jpg

Thanks to Allen and Unwin for sending me a copy of Dramarama for review. When I saw this in the publicity catalogue, I knew straight away that I wanted to read this book. I’ve read We Were Liars, The Disreputable History of Frankie Landau-Banks, and How to be Bad all by E. Lockhart, and I’ve loved every single of of them, so I knew that I was going to enjoy this.

There’s something about E. Lockhart’s writing style that really captivates me as a reader and makes it impossible to not enjoy what I’m reading. She can also tell a story amazingly – all four of her books that I’ve read are completely different, yet they are all so entertaining and unique in their own way.

Sadye is our narrator of the book, and it was so fun to read the story from her perspective as she leaves her boring town for the summer to go to a drama summer camp. Sadye is out there, creative, loud, opinionated and stands up for what she wants and what she believes in, and I love that about her. Just like most of E. Lockhart’s main characters, she is so unique and brilliant, yet she has her flaws as well and I think that’s what makes an amazing character.

Demi is Sadye’s best friend, and he also has his amazing qualities and his flaws. He brings out the best in Sadye and I absolutely love their video diaries that are shown through transcripts throughout the book.At the end of the book, Demi annoys me a little bit and I can’t believe that he let Sadye take the blame (if you’ve read the book you know what I’m talking about), but overall I found him a charismatic and unique character.

I think what I loved most about the book was the drama and theatre aspect. I haven’t read a lot of books about theatre, but it’s something that I love so much so I really enjoyed diving into that world. Sadye and Demi want to get out of their small and boring town full of no possibilities and suddenly they’re apart of this hectic and drama-full summer school and everything they’ve ever wanted is there. Demi is excelling but Sadye isn’t doing as well as she hoped, and her outspoken personality isn’t exactly helping her. But I loved seeing how both the characters acted in this sudden change of scenery.

I decided to give this 4.5 stars and I’m so glad that I picked up another E. Lockhart book (I want to read them all!). Comment below if you’ve read Dramarama or any of her other work and let me know what you thought! Also comment if you can recommend any other books about drama and theatre because I would love to read more!

Dramarama

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Ok so I HATED We Were Liars because the narration didn’t make sense. It made the main character sound uneducated and I just couldn’t deal. What is the narration style like with this one?

    Like

    1. Haha so this one is told from Sadye’s POV and I thought it was really good. However, I didn’t have a problem with the narration in We Were Liars so I’m not sure whether or not you’d like it 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

