BOOK TO MOVIE ADAPTATIONS

BOOK TO MOVIE ADAPTATIONS.png

When books are adapted to the big screen, there is always a bit of controversy about it – some people love the idea whereas others hate it no matter what. Obviously, I am a massive book fan and I love reading, but what some of you may not know about me is that I am just as big a fan of movies and TV shows as I am of books. So whenever I find out that any book (especially my favourites) are being adapted into a movie, I get really excited because I love seeing how the picture I created in my head is being projected onto the big screen.

A few of my favourite book to movie adaptations include;

 

The DUFF – Kody Keplinger

Love, Rosie – Cecelia Ahern

Paper Towns – John Green

Carrie – Stephen King (the most recent adaptation)

Twilight – Stephanie Meyer

Looking For Alibrandi – Melina Marchetta

The Fault in our Stars – John Green

The Hunger Games – Suzanne Collins

Me Before You – Jojo Moyes

The Perks of Being a Wallflower – Stephen Chbosky

City of Bones – Cassandra Clare

The 5th Wave – Rick Yancey

 

I think that there’s something so special when a book comes to life and I love seeing how actors portray the characters that are written on the page and the author created. I know that sometimes the movie isn’t accurate to the book, but I feel like it can still be a good movie individually. Take the Divergent movies, specifically Allegiant which is completely different to the book, and even though I would have loved it to relate to the ending of the book, I still didn’t mind the movie. I don’t think I’ve ever seen a book to movie adaptation that I’ve hated. I don’t know why, but I just love them.

I remember when I saw TFIOS movie for the first time. I went on the first day it was playing and I was both nervous and excited to see it because I had read the book at least five times by that point, and I had been waiting so long for the movie to be released. I remember walking out of the cinema and just being so happy with how everything turned out – it was exactly how I pictured it when reading it. Obviously there were a few things left out that I wished had been left in, but overall it was an accurate representation of the book, and both Shailene and Ansel did an incredible job at portraying Hazel and Augustus. I saw the movie three times in the cinemas, and I’ve watched it a million times since. It is probably my favourite book to movie adaptation.

There are quite a few books that are being made into movies this year with set release days. Here are some that I’m really looking forward to;

 

Before I Fall – Lauren Oliver

Everything, Everything – Nicola Yoon

Let It Snow – John Green, Maureen Johnson, Lauren Myracle

A Monster Calls – Patrick Ness (I still haven’t seen it)

 

But what about all the amazing books that have so much potential to become movies? Sometimes I read a book and I can picture it as if it is a movie and I can feel the cinematic aspect to it. So I’m going to list a few books that I think would make incredible movies.

 

Anna and the French Kiss – Stephanie Perkins

Fangirl – Rainbow Rowell

The Sky is Everywhere – Jandy Nelson

Girl in Pieces – Kathleen Gasglow

Just One Day – Gayle Forman

The Sun is Also a Star – Nicola Yoon (I think the rights have been sold!)

The One Memory of Flora Banks – Emily Banks

 

Comment down below your thoughts on book to movie adaptations – do you love them? Hate them? Or do you judge after you’ve both seen and read the book? Also let me know what your favourite adaptation is!

 

 

Leave a Reply

