TAG TUESDAY: the ultimate book tag

THE AUTUMN BOOK TAG (1).png

Hello again, and welcome to another TAG TUESDAY. Today I thought I’d do something a bit different and talk more about my reading life as opposed to book specifically. This tag was created by these lovely girls: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8JkZBk4IHdI

 

 

1. Do you get sick while reading in the car?

I usually do, but in saying that last year my bus ride to uni would be up to an hour and I used to read most of the time without getting sick. So I think I get sick reading in the car, but for some reason bus’ are different.

 

2. Which author’s writing style is completely unique to you and why?

I could choose so many authors for this one, but there’s something about John Green’s writing that always captivates me. He writes so beautifully, and his characters always have this crazy hold on me and I become obsessed with them! I really hope he’ll publish another book in the future.

 

3. Harry Potter Series or the Twilight Saga? Give 3 points to defend your answer.

Twilight:

  1. I read Twilight in primary school so it holds a special place in my heart. I only read HP a year ago, and even though I loved it, it’s just not sentimental to me
  2. I’ve always preferred vampires and werewolves to wizards
  3. The story concept and fantasy aspect is a lot easier for me to understand in Twilight than HP

I’m not going to lie, that was a hard one!

 

 

 

4. Do you carry a book bag? If so, what is it in (besides books…)?

No.

 

5. Do you smell your books?

Yes – I LOVE the smell of books!!!!!

 

 6. Books with or without little illustrations?

I don’t really mind either way. I can usually go without them, and if they’re in there I usually don’t take too much notice of them.

 

7. What book did you love while reading but discovered later it wasn’t quality writing? 

I read The Georgis Nicholson series when I was younger and I loved it. I’m currently rereading the series, and I still love the story line and it makes me laugh so much, but now that I’m a more mature and critical reader, I can definitely see some things that I don’t love so much. It is set for a younger audience so it’s not so much the quality of writing, but more the character of Georgia that annoys me a bit.

 

8. Do you have any funny stories involving books from your childhood? Please share!

In early years of high school, we had reading time during english class once. I grabbed Breaking Dawn from the shelf and purposely found the erotic sex scene and showed it to my friend. We were both giggling under our breaths, but the teacher heard me. Instead of just telling me to be quiet, she made me read out the page I was reading to the whole class. I was mortified, but I had no choice but to laugh it off (especially since the teacher looked just as embarrassed as I was).

 

 

9. What is the thinnest book on your shelf?

Persuasion by Jane Austen

 

10. What is the thickest book on your shelf?

The ten year anniversary edition of Twlight/Life and Death by Stephanie Meyer.

 

11. Do you write as well as read? Do you see yourself in the future as being an author?

Yes and yes (hopefully). I have completed first drafts to two different novels and began writing many others. Yesterday I decided that I’m going to start editing and working on a second draft to the first manuscript I wrote last year. I love writing and I think writing on this blog has definitely helped me with developing my writing also. I studied Psychology last year at uni, but this year I have transferred to an English and Creative Writing course, so I can’t wait to be writing more throughout the year!

 

12. When did you get into reading?

Ever since I was young I’ve always loved reading – I can’t pin point a time when I first got into it.

 

13. What is your favorite classic book?

The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald. I read it for year 11 English and it was the first classic that I actually enjoyed. I’ve reread it since and watched the most recent film adaptation a million times.

 

14. In school was your best subject?

English was always one of my favourite subjects for most of my school years, but it probably wasn’t always my best. It always changed from year to year depending on what we were learning and who my teacher was.

 

15. If you were given a book as a present that you had read before and hated…what would you do?

Smile, say thank you, and then go to my room and cry.

 

16. What is a lesser known series that you know of that is similar to Harry Potter or the Hunger Games?

I don’t knowwwwww……??????

 

17. What is a bad habit you always do while blogging?

Sometimes if I can’t get in the zone, I have a short attention span so I procrastinate and find something to do after writing each sentence.

 

18. What is your favorite word?

“like” – I say it waaaaay to often.

 

19. Are you a nerd, dork, or dweeb? Or all of the above?

I’m definitely a book nerd and my entire family pays me out about it constantly.

 

20. Vampires or Fairies? Why?

Vampires because Twilight!! Besides, Fairies always confuse me in fantasy books because they’re never just normal cute little fairies.

 

21. Shapeshifters or Angels? Why?

Angels? Shapeshifters? I don’t know! I think I would rather be a shapeshifter because how cool would that be?!

 

22. Spirits or Werewolves? Why?

Spirits are cool, but I just started watching Teen Wolf a few days ago, and OMG! Werewolves!!!

 

23. Zombies or Vampires?

Vampires again.

 

 24. Love Triangle or Forbidden Love?

Forbidden Love. I HATE love triangles!

 

25. AND FINALLY: Full on romance books or action-packed with a few love scenes mixed in?

Romance all the way. I love fantasy from time to time, but I really have to be in the mood for it. There’s just something about lovey dovey books that make me swoon!

 

I hope you guys enjoyed this little (or really long) tag for something different, and I’m sure you all learnt a little something about me. Comment below if you prefer romance or action books!

Leave a Reply

