‘WING JONES’ – Katherine Webber

MORGANS.png

Jandy Nelson meets Friday Night Lights: a sweeping story about love and family from an exceptional new voice in YA. With a grandmother from China and another from Ghana, fifteen-year-old Wing Jones is often caught between worlds. But when tragedy strikes, Wing discovers a talent for running she never knew she had. Wing’s speed could bring her family everything it needs. It could also stop Wing getting the one thing she wants.

Thanks to Walker Books for sending me a copy of Wing Jones to review. When I first read the synopsis to this book it sounded amazing and I couldn’t wait to get my hands on it. I usually try and read review books roughly in the order that I receive them, but I pushed this one right up because I couldn’t wait to read it. I also planned to read it over the course of a couple days, but I couldn’t put it down so I literally finished it in less than a day!

Firstly, I wanted to mention that the author actually wrote a majority of this book during Nanowrimo 2015 which I think is amazing! When I read this in a Nanowrimo email that was sent to me, it only inspired me even more to continue working on the novel that I started in Camp Nanowrimo July last year!

Okay… back to the book.

c5jjdgeuyaacuh1

From the very beginning. Katherine Webber had already pulled me in to the book and I couldn’t put it down. On Monday evenings I usually watch TV for the whole night because all my favourite shows are on, but during commercials I HAD to read and I found myself looking forward to commercial breaks so that I could read again!

Wing goes through a lot throughout the story, but she always stays true to herself and I love her for this. She has lived in her brothers shadow for her whole life, but now it’s time for her to shine, and she definitely takes advantage of that. Wing is biracial (highly recommend if you are looking for a diverse book!) and she isn’t the most popular girl in school, so this only makes people gossip about her even more. There’s a lot of sympathy for Wing because she is bullied at school and everyone (including her family) sees her as something a lot less than they see her brother.

However, Wing’s character development throughout the book is incredible, and it’s probably my favourite aspect of the whole story. She starts of as Marcus’ little sister, biracial, bigger than the average teenage girl and friendless. But by the end of the book she has let so many people into her life that help her become this strong girl who now knows what she loves to do and who chases her goals and dreams.

The family dynamics in the book is another thing that I love. Wing is really close to her brother and her whole family is really tight knit including her mum and both her grandmothers. It’s hard to see them go through so much together, but they always have each other by their sides and I think that’s the most important thing.

I also love how close Aaron is with the family, and especially with Wing. He is her brothers best friend, but she’s always felt something more for him, and it was really interesting to see how this developed over the course of the book. Aaron adds a lot to the story; similar to Marcus he is popular, sporty and has a bubbly personality that everyone wants to be around, including Wing. He becomes a lot softer throughout the book as he suffers along with Wing’s family, but once again he always has the support network of his second family.

Comment below if you’ve read Wing Jones, and if you haven’t then you NEED to! I’d love to know your thoughts on this incredible story!

download

 

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Micca says:

    Nice review! The book sounds so amazing I love how this is mainly focused to family + its a diverse one! Is it already released?

    Like

    1. It’s amazing – you should definitely read it! And yes, I think it was released recently! 😊

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

