READING GENRES THAT YOU’RE NOT IN THE MOOD FOR; ft. ‘A Shadow Bright And Burning’

NOT IN THE MOOD FOR A CERTAIN GENRE-.png

 

I am Henrietta Howel. The first female sorcerer. The prophesied one. Or am I?
Henrietta Howel can burst into flames. When she is brought to London to train with Her Majesty’s sorcerers, she meets her fellow sorcerer trainees, young men eager to test her powers and her heart. One will challenge her. One will fight for her. One will betray her. As Henrietta discovers the secrets hiding behind the glamour of sorcerer life, she begins to doubt that she’s the true prophesied one. With battle looming, how much will she risk to save the city–and the one she loves?

 

Thanks to Penguin for sending me a copy of ASBAB for review. When I first received the book near the end of last year, I wasn’t really in the mood to read fantasy and it didn’t matter how interesting the blurb sounded because I just couldn’t find the motivation to read it. Eventually, I decided that I should just pick it up and give it a try because I hate having unread books on my shelf for too long.

I started it one afternoon in hopes that I would find it interesting or something would come over me that made me realise I actually could read a fantasy book even though I’ve been in a contemporary mood for the last few months. But after the first half an hour of reading, I knew that this still hadn’t changed.

After two afternoons of reading, I read about 200 pages (half the book) and I decided that it was time to put the book down. I didn’t know any of the characters’ names, let alone what was actually happening to them and the story line. I was reading for the sake of reading a book and because I felt like I was obliged to read and review this book even though it was sent to me unsolicited (I didn’t request it). I had wasted almost three days “reading” a book that I had no interest in reading but that I didn’t want to put down because I hate DNFing books!

I think that once I’m in the mood to read a fantasy book, I will pick it up again because the story line does still somewhat interest me and I think it has a lot of potential. I was meant to put up a review for this book today, but since I didn’t finish it, I’m going to make this a little discussion post instead.

C5YlcQLUsAAMwnl.jpg

2016 was the year that I finally got back into reading again. High school was finished and even though I still had uni, it was as if I found my true passion and how I wanted to spend my spare time, and that was by reading. I was so excited that I had just joined the online book community (something that I didn’t even know existed before) and there were so many people reading a wide range of books that I had never heard about before, and I wanted to read them all.

I’m going to insert a picture of what my book shelf looked like before November 2015. As you can see from this picture, not only did I have very few books, but I also had a small range of genres. Twilight and THG were the only fantasy/dystopian books I owned and that was mainly because I didn’t know much about these genres. A majority of the books I owned were about real life/ contemporary worlds. Like I said, it wasn’t that I didn’t necessarily like fantasy, I just hadn’t ventured too much into that world.

ipad 2015 179.JPG

Now I’m going to insert a more recent picture of my bookshelf. Not only is it (A LOT) bigger, but there are a whole range of genres and age groups and books that I had never even thought would interest me. In 2016, almost 50% of the books that I read fell under the fantasy genre. Everyone in the online book community seems to love fantasy, and I was getting all these recommendations so I wanted to read them all. I read other genres throughout the year such as contemporary, historical fiction, mystery and thriller, but fantasy just seemed to be the genre that I leant towards the most.

a.jpg

Then November of 2015 rolled around and I just couldn’t keep myself interested in the fantasy books that I was reading. I found myself bored or confused and I would end up just skimming the rest of the book so that I could say I finished it and mark it as read. I then picked up a contemporary book and I realised just how much I love that genre. Four months later, and I am still in this fantasy slump.

Comment below if you have or are going through the same thing as me. Is there a specific genre that you usually love but haven’t been able to get into recently? I bough The Infernal Devices last year but I’m too scared to pick them up because I really want to enjoy them! I would love to hear your thoughts on this. Also comment if you’ve read A Shadow Bright and Burning and if you think I should pick it up again in the future.

23203252

2 thoughts on “READING GENRES THAT YOU’RE NOT IN THE MOOD FOR; ft. ‘A Shadow Bright And Burning’

  1. cjhuehn09 March 26, 2017 / 10:25 am

    I am so glad that I’m not the only one going through this. I, too, took a break from reading until this year. Life was busy but I started craving a good book. My book shelf was only a handful of books so I started with 1984 by George Orwell. It’s one of my favorite classics but I quickly found that I wasn’t in the mood for these types of books. I wanted paranormal, urban fantasy, things out of this world but I didn’t have many in my collection at the time. My cousin borrowed me some books but she’s also into the contemporary books. I feel obligated to read them even though they don’t interest me and I’ve recently expanded my collection to include the books I want to read. I’ve currently been stuck on the second chapter of water for Elephants for days and have instead read two paranormal romance books during this time. I hate doing it but I’m just not in the mood for them right now.

    Like

    • alwaysandforeverreading March 26, 2017 / 5:40 pm

      I’m glad I’m not the only one! When you feel like you’re obligated to read a book it makes reading feel like a chore!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

