‘SEVEN DAYS OF YOU’ – Cecilia Vinesse

Seven Days.png

Sophia has seven days left in Tokyo before she moves back to the States. Seven days to say good-bye to the electric city, her wild best friend, and the boy she’s harbored a semi-secret crush on for years. Seven perfect days…until Jamie Foster-Collins moves back to Japan and ruins everything.

Jamie and Sophia have a history of heartbreak, and the last thing Sophia wants is for him to steal her leaving thunder with his stupid arriving thunder. Yet as the week counts down, the relationships she thought were stable begin to explode around her. And Jamie is the one who helps her pick up the pieces. Sophia is forced to admit she may have misjudged Jamie, but can their seven short days of Tokyo adventures end in anything but good-bye?

Thanks to Hachette for sending me a copy of Seven Days of You for review!

C9GTdEPVoAAVg_v.jpg

When I first picked the book up, I wasn’t exactly in the mood to read, but I figured that I needed to read and review this at some point. It took me a week to read (I usually read books in a few days) and I’m not sure if I was disinterested in the story at the beginning, or if I was just in a reading slump. But yesterday I finally felt like reading it again, and I managed to finish the last two thirds of the book in just over a day.

Overall, I enjoyed the book. We had the main character and a few of her friends, and all of them had different personality types, which made it fun to read about when these personalities clashed. The friendship, family and romance themes were fun, and it was good to see the characters developing over the course of the book. I also liked the idea of the book being set over Sophia’s last seven days in Tokyo with her friends. It isn’t often that I read books about characters who already know each other and have history together, and this also meant that there was no cases of insta-love!

However, there were a few parts of the book which left me a bit unsatisfied.

Firstly, the book is set in Japan, but I honestly wouldn’t have known any different. I’m fairly certain that all the main characters were white. There was also no Japanese culture and we didn’t get to hear much about the city and Tokyo surroundings. The book could’ve been set anywhere, it didn’t even have to mention where it was set, and it wouldn’t have made a difference to the story.

I only really became invested in Sophia and Jamie’s relationship/friendship in the last hundred pages, which made a majority of the book feel a bit boring. I also didn’t get the whole deal with Mika and David (I think I skimmed over an argument that happened which made me really confused about everything that was going on – but that’s pretty much my fault).

All in all, it was an okay book. I just wished that it had a bit more to it, specifically to do with the country that it’s set in.

If you’ve read Seven Days of You let me know your thoughts on it!

31308114

Leave a Reply

