‘KING’S CAGE’ – Victoria Aveyard

 

KING'S.png

 

In this breathless third installment to Victoria Aveyard’s bestselling Red Queen series, allegiances are tested on every side. And when the Lightning Girl’s spark is gone, who will light the way for the rebellion?

Mare Barrow is a prisoner, powerless without her lightning, tormented by her lethal mistakes. She lives at the mercy of a boy she once loved, a boy made of lies and betrayal. Now a king, Maven Calore continues weaving his dead mother’s web in an attempt to maintain control over his country—and his prisoner.

As Mare bears the weight of Silent Stone in the palace, her once-ragtag band of newbloods and Reds continue organizing, training, and expanding. They prepare for war, no longer able to linger in the shadows. And Cal, the exiled prince with his own claim on Mare’s heart, will stop at nothing to bring her back.

When blood turns on blood, and ability on ability, there may be no one left to put out the fire—leaving Norta as Mare knows it to burn all the way down.

Thanks to Harper Collins for sending me a copy of King’s Cage to review.

C95o2jvUwAA1gUB

I read Red Queen in January of 2015 and read Glass Sword when it was released a couple months later. I absolutely loved the first book – I adored the character and found the plot really intriguing despite it being similar to a lot of YA fantasy books. But when I read the second book, I didn’t enjoy it at all and actually found it a bit boring. I couldn’t even remember what happened, that’s how disinterested I was, so I had to read a summary before picking up the third book.

But I can safely say that I actually really enjoyed this instalment.

I’ve been putting off reading it for a while because I haven’t been in the mood to read fantasy and I didn’t want that to affect my thoughts on the book, and also because I didn’t want to read a 500 page book that I was going to be bored with like I was the last time. But I eventually got right into it, and somehow managed to finish it in three days.

What I loved about King’s Cage is that we got more of Maven in this book, and we got to see the person underneath the mask that his mother glued to his face from the day he was born. It hurts me so much to read what is happening because it isn’t all his fault – he’s trapped and I’m not sure now if he’s ever going to get out. In Red Queen, I was constantly switching between Cal and Maven, but I think I was always leaning more toward Maven. But after this book, I’m not too sure it’s going to happen.

In saying that, I still really like Cal’s character, but we didn’t get too much from him during this instalment. The thing I like about Cal the most is that he has realistic flaws which makes him a relatable character. I would have liked a Cal POV throughout the book because I feel like I kept forgetting about him.

I’m so glad this book redeemed itself and the Red Queen series for me. I originally thought it was only going to be a trilogy, but with that ending there has to be more – and I can’t wait to read it!

Be sure to comment below if you’ve read the Red Queen series and let me know what you think!

30226723

Leave a Reply

