reading books out of your age category (adult fiction) – ft. ‘INDELIBLE’ by Adelia Saunders

READING OUTSIDE.png

Magdalena has an unsettling gift. She sees writing on the body of everyone she meets – names, dates, details both banal and profound – and her only relief from the onslaught of information is to take off her glasses and let the world recede. Mercifully, her own skin is blank.
When she meets Neil, she is intrigued to see her name on his cheek. He’s in Paris for the summer, studying a medieval pilgrimage to the rocky coast of Spain, where the body of Saint Jacques was said to have washed ashore, covered in scallop shells. Desperate to make things right after her best friend dies – a loss she might have prevented – Magdalena embarks on her own pilgrimage, but not before Neil falls for her, captivated by her pale eyes, charming Eastern European accent, and aura of heartbreak.
Neil’s father, Richard, is also in Paris, searching for the truth about his late mother, a famous expatriate American novelist who abandoned him at birth. All his life Richard has clung to a single striking memory – his mother’s red shoes, which her biographers agree he never could have seen.
Despite misunderstandings and miscommunications, these unforgettable characters converge, by chance or perhaps by fate, and Magdalena’s uncanny ability may prove to be the key to their happiness. Indelible pulses with humanity and breathes life into unexpected fragments of history, illustrating our urgent need to connect with others and the past.

Thanks to Bloomsbury for sending me a copy of INDELIBLE to read and review!

C-oz16ZVoAAn5kd

So I’ve had this book on my TBR for a couple months, but I’ve been putting it off because it is out of my usual YA comfort zone. During Dewey’s 24 Hour Readathon (check out my wrap up on my blog), I decided to pick it up because it is a short and quick read and I thought it would be best to get it over with.

So I read it and I just didn’t feel anything for it. It wasn’t bad, but I just couldn’t connect to the characters or have any emotions for the story line, which I was disappointed with because the blurb sounded really interesting and I thought I was going to enjoy it. If I was reading it at any other time, I probably would have DNF’ed it. But since I was dedicating 24 hours to reading, and because I hate DNFing books, I just pushed through it.

So when I sat down to write a review, I couldn’t decide what I wanted to write about because I don’t really have much to say about the book (apart from what I already said). So instead, I’m going to talk about my thoughts on reading within and outside of age categories, and some of my favourite books out of the young adult age genre that I’m used to reading.

I really only became familiar with YA when I joined the book community in 2015. Although I had read Twilight, John Green and a few other YA books, I didn’t really understand that there was a difference between them and the other books I had read. A lot of the other books I owned consisted of Nicholas Sparks, Gillian Flynn and a few autobiographies. But when I joined bookstagram and discovered YA, I realised that these were the books that I enjoyed most, and I hardly ever explore outside of this.

Below are some of my favourite adult fiction books, or books other than YA. Be sure to comment below what your favourites are;
Love, Rosie – Cecelia Ahern
Nicholas Sparks
Me Before You – Jojo Moyes
Gone Girl – Gillian Flynn
The Great Gatsby – F. Scott Fitzgerald
Jane Eyre – Charlotte Bronte

Comment below what your thoughts are on age categories, and how often you read outside of your usual age range, assuming that you have one. I would love to hear what other people’s thoughts are on this discussion.

Also let me know if you’ve read Indelible and what you thought about it!

30039020

Leave a Reply

