Reading Matters Adelaide: ft. Shivaun Plozza and A.S. King

Reading Matters.png

On Tuesday night I made my way in to the city during peek hour traffic to attend the Reading Matters talk featuring two young adult authors; our own #LoveOzYA author Shivaun Plozza (Frankie) and A.S. King (recently Still Life with Tornado). Reading Matters has been doing so many talks with so many incredible authors all over Australia, so when I saw that there was going to be a talk in Adelaide (and for free) I knew that I was in!

I was only at the Penguin Teen Showcase last Tuesday where I got to meet Krystal Sutherland and Jennifer Niven (check out my blog post here -> https://alwaysandforeverreading.wordpress.com/2017/06/04/penguin-teen-aus-showcase-ft-jennifer-niven-and-krystal-sutherland/ ) which I had an amazing time at, so I was super excited to meet another two authors and hear them talk.

I’ve heard of Shivaun Plozza and followed her on Twitter and known about Frankie but I hadn’t read it (even thought I had planned to buy it for a long time). However, I hadn’t heard of A.S. King or her books before. So last week I went a picked up Frankie and Still Life With Tornado so that I could get them signed and read them eventually, but I didn’t have time to read them before the event. But I will definitely be picking them up soon because they both sound incredible.

So I caught the tram in to the city and couldn’t find where the stupid lecture theatre that the even was being held in. I awkwardly walked around the whole State Library main building for about fifteen minutes before walking out and realising that it’s in a whole separate building next door… this would only happen to me. But I made it in time and out of breath and slightly stressed. Yes, I could’ve just asked someone. But… shy….

So basically there was a lady (I can’t remember who she said she was) monitored the discussion and asked the authors questions about their books and writing and reading and basically the importance of it all. I found a lot of the things they were saying really interesting and inspiring and both had a lot of important things to say about the book and reading community.

Again, I realised after the even that I should have taken note on some of the things that they said, but I forgot. However, The YA Circle and Youth Literature were live tweeting (smart idea) and quotes some things that the authors said, so I’ll put some of my favourite ones below;

 

“Cut a sentence if it doesn’t advance a story or shed light on a character in any way” – A.S. King

“YA is a search for identity” – Shivaun Plozza

“Knowing that there is someone out there who has been through something you have, encourages resilience” – A.S. King

“These girls deserve to see themselves in a book” – Shivaun Plozza

“My work is for human beings” – A.S. King

 

They said so many more incredible and touching things and the conversation with the rest of the audience was really thought provoking. It made me remember just how important reading and writing is, and being able to represent as many different stories and people and experiences in to books is such a magical thing. I just love books… okay.

And then I got my books signed by both authors (YAY more signed books!) and I can’t wait to pick them up soon. I have three more review books on my TBR that I want to get to first, and then I’m going to pick them both up straight away.

DByYYBfVwAAeyry

Comment below if you went to any of the Reading Matters talks and what authors spoke and what you learnt from it all.

Also let me know if you’ve read any books from these authors and what your thought son them are!

Leave a Reply

