FRIDAY FAVOURITES: best books I’ve read in 2017 so far (January-June)

FRIDAY FAVOURITEStop 10 books of 2017 so far (Jan-June).png

Welcome back to Friday Favourites – something that I haven’t done in a long time. Since we’re past the mid year point, I’ve decided to list the top ten books I’ve read so far in 2017 (from January 1 to June 30). I’ve listed them roughly from tenth place to first, but I really LOVED all of these books!

 

10. Milk and Honey - Rupi Kaur

This is the first poetry collection that I’ve read, and I loved it. I decided to tag my favourite poems with sticky notes… which ended up being half of the book. The themes and messages, along with Rupi’s graceful worlds made this so easy to fly through.

Milk and Honey

9. The Infernal Devices - Cassandra Clare

I read The Mortal Instruments last year and as much as I liked it, I hadn’t been motivated to pick up The Infernal devices because I haven’t really been in a fantasy mood this year. But when I did read it, I surprisingly loved it (maybe even more than TMI). That ending though! And Will ❤

Clockwork Angel (The Infernal Devices, #1)

8. Simon vs the Homo-Sapiens Agenda - Becky Albertalli

After hearing the hype for the upcoming movie adaptation (and the book itself) I finally decided to pick this up. It was such a fun and adorable read with so many great characters. And I cannot wait for the movie to come out because there are so many amazing actors playing these amazing characters.

Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda

7. Girl in Pieces - Kathleen Gasglow

This is a really dark and emotional read, but those have been my favourite to read recently. Charlie has been through a lot in her life, as we see in the beginning and throughout the book, but seeing her overcome all of it was one of the best aspects of the story. It focused on mental health and character development, with little to no romance which I loved.

Girl in Pieces

6. Wing Jones - Katherine Webber

This book covered such a wide range of topics; grief, family, friendships, relationships and so much more. I’ve read a lot of books about grief this year (most of them have ended up on this list) but what I loved about this one is how Wing turns to running to clear her head. Out of the gazillion hobbies that are mentioned in YA, I’ve never read a character who enjoys running (I know I don’t…).
Review: https://alwaysandforeverreading.wordpress.com/2017/03/21/wing-jones/

Wing Jones

5. Countless - Karen Gregory

Another dark and emotion story with light at the other end of the tunnel. Hedda has an eating disorder and decides to put it on “hold” when she falls pregnant. This focuses on the story of Hedda’s ups and downs, recover, and raising her baby and once again, with little romance. I did cry…
Review: https://alwaysandforeverreading.wordpress.com/2017/06/13/countless-karen-gregory/

Countless

4. The Upside of Unrequited - Becky Albertalli

Yes, I have both of Becky’s books on this list, and for good reason. I read this one before Simon and I think I enjoyed it a little bit more. There was such a diverse range of characters, which I loved every single one of, and the story line was so adorable and fun and the romance was so cute!
Review: https://alwaysandforeverreading.wordpress.com/2017/05/12/the-upside-of-unrequited-becky-albertalli/

The Upside of Unrequited

3. Juniper Lemon's Happiness Index - Julie Israel

When I picked this up, I didn’t expect to love it as much as I did. But I ended up finishing it in one night because I couldn’t put it down. It focuses on grief, a bit of mystery, a bit of romance, growing friendships and so much more. It was such an emotional and touching book and I just loved it.
Review:

Juniper Lemon’s Happiness Index

2. Always and Forever, Lara Jean - Jenny Han

A beautiful and adorable and perfect ending to my favourite contemporary series. I really didn’t want it to end. I could honestly read a million books about Lara Jean and Peter and the rest of the incredible characters. There were so many ups and downs in the story, and I felt very tense at some points, but it was a beautiful ending.

Always and Forever, Lara Jean (To All the Boys I've Loved Before, #3)

1. Love Letters to the Dead - Ava Dellaira

Not only is this the best book I’ve read this year, but I think it might even be my favourite book of all time!?! I was hooked from the first page, I cried, and I fell in love with the characters and every part of it. Laurel is grieving the loss of her sister and writes letters to dead famous people, and this is how the story is told. There are so many ups and downs in the story, along with a whole range of topics. There was only a little bit of romance and I loved how it was handled in such a delicate manner. I only read this in March but I already want to read it again.

Love Letters to the Dead

 

What’s the best book that you’ve read so far this year?

 

img_5144.jpg

 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. So many good books, and quite a few that I haven’t read yet but I really need to put on my TBR!

    Like

  2. AHHH I see Jenny Han’s series here!! I LOVED To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before You. It was such a funny and lighthearted read. I find it so hilarious how Peter and Lara Jean get together, not to mention Kitty’s spunky attitude and all the drama going on with Genevieve.
    Girl in Pieces has actually been under my radar for quite some time. Definitely going to add it to my TBR now!
    Anyways, I look forward to more of your posts in the future… Happy Reading! 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

