‘EXCHANGE OF HEART’ by Darren Groth

'Exchange of Heart'by Darren Groth.png

Sometimes, Life takes on a life of its own…

Since the sudden death of his younger sister, Munro Maddux has been stuck. Flashbacks. Anger. Chest pains. And a voice – taunting, barking, biting – that his counsellor calls ‘the Coyote’. Munro knows a student exchange will not be the stuff of Disney movies. But in Australia he intends to move beyond his troubled past.

Forced by his new school to join a volunteer program, Munro discovers the Coyote is silenced in one place: Fair Go, an assisted living residence in Brisbane’s west, where Munro gets to know his team of residents: dogged designer Bernie; sleeping refugee Shah; would-be wedded couple Blake and Dale; comic creator Iggy; and self-defence tutor Florence. As this unlikely group shows Munro the sights, Munro’s notion of what it means to be a big brother begins to change.

But the burden Munro carries is not so easily cast aside, and unexpected developments at Fair Go prompt a devastating flashback that threatens to end the student exchange. Will the Coyote ultimately triumph? Or can Munro find the fortitude necessary to mend his heart?

Thanks to Penguin for sending me a copy of EXCHANGE OF HEART for review.

DEIA-jRU0AInq7h

After reading the blurb, I was intrigued to find out more about this book and the story inside. However, it didn’t end up being quite what I thought it was going to be.

What I liked;

  • It’s a quick read; I managed to finish it in a few hours
  • It’s readable; the writing is simple and kept me intrigued. Although I wasn’t entirely interested in the story, it wasn’t so bad that I couldn’t finish the book
  • #LOVEOZYA with a Canadian MC
  • It was heartbreaking and emotional at times
  • The “Coyote” was interesting to read and added a lot to the story and the main character
  • It didn’t focus on romance

 

What I didn’t like;

  • I had no connection to the main character. This might have to to with the length of the book
  • Although the story was emotional at times, I found it a little bit boring. I skimmed most of it (which is probably my own fault)
  • I didn’t understand the ending
  • It just lacked SOMETHING for me

 

Overal, EXCHANGE OF HEART was a good book (I gave it 3 stars on Goodreads). I just personally didn’t love it. I think it had the potential to be a book that I loved, but it was just missing that little something that drew me in.

If you’ve read EXCHANGE OF HEART, comment below and let me know your thoughts.

Leave a Reply

