‘IF THERE’S NO TOMORROW’ by Jennifer L. Armentrout

'If There's No Tomorrow'by Jennifer L. Armentrout (1).png

 

Lena Wise is always looking forward to tomorrow, especially at the start of her senior year. She’s ready to pack in as much friend time as possible, to finish college applications and to maybe let her childhood best friend, Sebastian, know how she really feels about him. For Lena, the upcoming year is going to be one of opportunities and chances.

Until one choice, one moment, destroys everything.

Now Lena isn’t looking forward to tomorrow. Not when friend time may never be the same. Not when college applications feel all but impossible. Not when Sebastian could never forgive her for what happened.

For what she let happen.

With the guilt growing each day, Lena knows that her only hope is to move on. But how can she move on when tomorrow isn’t even guaranteed?

Thanks to Harlequin Teen for sending me a copy of IF THERE’S NO TOMORROW for review.

DEXoI_BUAAA1L4H.jpg

For some reason I thought this was going to be a light hearted mushy love story contemporary, so I didn’t really have high expectations going into this because I tent to go for the more “hard hitting” contemporaries these days. So not only was I surprised while reading this, but I was extremely happy (yes, emotional and deep stories make me happy). I’m not going to bother beating around the bush here; I FREAKIN’ LOVED THIS BOOK! I laughed, almost cried, and fell in love with the characters and the development and everything else. And there was a little bit of romance which was the cherry on top of the sundae.

I don’t even know how to organise my thoughts on how much I loved this book, so I’m going to try and list them below because it’ll make more sense that way. There may be some slight spoilers below (nothing specific, but if you like going in to a book not knowing too much then you might want to skip this) . You’ve been warned!

  • I went through a whole range of emotions while reading it, and books that can do that are always my favourite
  • The main character, Lena is just amazing in every way. She is complex, flawed, relatable and I just loved seeing how she develops throughout the story
  • Speaking of how relatable Lena is, she loves reading and food!
  • There are so many references throughout; Dance Mom’s, A Court of Thorns and Roses, The Walking Dead and probably more
  • The topic of grief and how everyone goes through it differently is a massive part of the story. Each of the teenagers handle the situation differently, and although it was tough, I think it’s an important topic to talk about
  • The issue with drink driving and underage drinking is also a major topic discussed; something that I don’t often see in YA
  • Sebastian. Just him in general. Where can I find myself a Sebastian?!
  • Friendships are tested. It’s intense and emotional, but when aren’t they?
  • The ending was so beautiful and it really captivates the truth of grief and working our way through it

There are so many more things that I love about this book – I could spend hours listing them. But something else that dragged me in to this story (and finishing it in a day) is Jennifer’s writing. It is just so beautiful and touching and really made me think about a lot. I tagged a few of my favourite quotes while reading which I’ll put below. Some of the things I just found extremely relatable, and other’s are just beautifully written;

  • “I swore half the money I made waitressing at Joanna’s went to buying books instead of filling my savings account, but I couldn’t help myself”
  • “It’s time for you to get a boyfriend. And a reall one, too. Not a book boyfriend.”
  • “What does waiting do? None of us are promised a tomorrow. We learned that, didn’t we? We don’t always get a later. I’m done living like we do.”
  • “Everything is going to be okay again. I know it doesn’t seem that way right now, but it will. It has to be… We can’t get (…) back – we’ll never get them back – but we’ll get ourselves back. I believe that. I really do.”
  • “We don’t always get tomorrow. Sometimes it’s not because of death. Sometimes it’s the decisions we make for ourselves.”

So if you can’t tell already, I loved this book and it gets 5 gazillion stars from me (definitely a new favourite). IF THERE’S NO TOMORROW comes out next week (September 5th) and I can’t recommend it enough. Go and pick it up! And if you have already read it, let me know below your thoughts.

Excuse me while I go cry now because I started this book and finished it seven hours later and I could’ve savoured it but now it’s over and I need to move on!!!!!

34225450

 

 

 

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

