‘FINDING NEVO’ by Nevo Zisin

'Finding Nevo'by Nevo Zisin.png

Meet Nevo: girl, boy, he, she, him, her, they, them, daughter, son, teacher, student, friend, gay, bi, lesbian, trans, homo, Jew, dyke, masculine, feminine, androgynous, queer. Nevo was not born in the wrong body. Nevo just wants everyone to catch up with all that Nevo is. Personal, political and passionate, Finding Nevo is an autobiography about gender and everything that comes with it.

Thanks to Walker Books for sending me a copy of FINDING NEVO for review!

DFasj9iXUAEAnOU

FINDING NEVO is the touching and inspirational story of Nevo who follows the internal and external journey of discovering themselves. Nevo discusses what it is like to live their life as queer, transmasculine and non-binary. It’s an educational story that I believe should be mandatory reading in high schools, and probably for everyone.

I always find it difficult to review biographies and memoirs because it feels like I’m reviewing their life and who they are. So rather than this being a “review”, think of it as more of a discussion about how important Nevo’s story is.

Throughout the book, Nevo goes through a lot of changes and identities, including sexuality and gender identity, something that is often perceived as a fixed. However, Nevo discusses how both gender and sexuality can be fluid, and as we grow up and find out more about ourselves or experience new things, we discover this. The last section of the book (I think it was titled after word), definitely showed this in a touching and beautiful way. Nevo describes a scene where they walk in to a room and are faced with who they have identified themselves as throughout their lives; the baby girl that was born, the four year old where they identified as a boy, the teenagers where they identified as bisexual, lesbian, and a trans guy. And also polyamourous and non-binary. This scene left me with chills and I think it really captivated how beautiful Nevo’s writing style is throughout the entire book and the changes they went through throughout their life.

As I mentioned, Nevo’s writing style is beautiful and captivating and they described and explained things with such detail, which I find doesn’t often happen in biographies and memoirs. I know there’s so much more to the story than the writing style, but I really wanted to add how much easier captivating writing makes it to finish a biography when it isn’t just filled with facts. By the way, I finished this in a couple sittings over a day because I couldn’t put it down!

Nevo writes toward the end of the book that they don’t want people to read this book and say that it was an inspiring story, but then do nothing about it. Because I completely agree. Nevo’s story educated me, as a non queer person, on queer identities. But I’m sure it will also be helpful for queer people who are trying to find an identity for themselves. It showed me how hard it is when your family and loved ones can’t accept who you are and how draining this journey must be.

Everyone should read FINDING NEVO. Yes, everyone. It is a thoughtful and inspiring, yet incredibly raw and emotional recount on the life of Nevo and their discovery of who they are. I have definitely learnt a lot about gender, sexuality and queer identities throughout reading this book, and I plan on putting this to use in my everyday life.

32129370

Leave a Reply

